PDA

View Full Version : Is there something like the Wings3D tweek in XSI?

HellBorn
11-02-2004, 08:19 PM
If I there is something like the Wings3D tweekmode hidden in XSI it would help a lot as this constant pressing of keys drives me mad. If the mouse and say two of the buttons constantly controlled the panning,rotation and zooming I could live with the other keystrokes but having to press a key just for panning,rotation and zooming is to much. Sometimes I have to press and release keys several times per second!

I'm new to XSI so maybe I'm not workin the most effective way.
Say that I'm editing points in a model.
I would then go into point mode 't'. Select a point then press and hold say 'v' and and do a translation then release 'v' do a new selection and so on. Then I have to rotate the sceen so press and hold 's' and use the right mouse button to rotate the scene. This 3 key exercise then goes on and untill my fingers gets numb.

XSI do a lot more than modeling so it could wery well be that on the whole the mouse usage works well, but for me that mainly have worked with modelling so far think it's a waste to reserve the middle and right buttons for tree selections (something I do maybe once per hour at most) . I would rather have seen them used for the view handling(witch I do about every other second).

So, any advice on how to work better and more effective when modelling would be greatefully recived ;)

(In case you don't know Wings3D the tweek mode let's you select a point and then move it without running the move command. Just click and you can move it paralel to the screen.)

3DDave
11-02-2004, 08:29 PM
Look at the cool things no one knows post above.

liquidik
11-02-2004, 08:38 PM
ehehehe...well, too easy. Try to press the m key. Now just click a drag points :D

HellBorn
11-02-2004, 09:26 PM
Thank's.

Actually I did look trough a bit more than half the tread but the posts was not exactly formatted for easy reading ;)