PDA

View Full Version : Split ?


LiquidoX
10-30-2004, 10:37 AM
Iwant to get new lines/ ploygones their
http://mitglied.lycos.de/nobodylikeme000/screens/prob.jpg
But i get bad triangels like this
http://mitglied.lycos.de/nobodylikeme000/screens/split.jpg

Help ?

manlio
10-30-2004, 10:56 AM
You cannot avoid triangulation without using ngons (polygon with more then 4 points). Ngons are one of the big improvement of Cinema 9 release. If you are using a previous version you must study better the mesh topology (there are a lot of modelling Cinema based tutorial). Mesh surgery can also help a lot (I think Katana can be the right thing).
See ya

AdamT
10-30-2004, 02:18 PM
There's no reason triangles should be made there, since the split is only making quads. IMO this was a bug in the old split function. Anyway, you can just melt the extra edges.

tcastudios
10-30-2004, 02:27 PM
There is a small excellent plug called Cutter that works in R9 as well from Arntd von K.
Comes in handy in situations like this.R9 is still pretty new to me so I don't know if it could be done natively.
Found at the bottom of this page:
http://www.vonkoenigsmarck.de/Bannerware/Bannerware.html

Cheers
Lennart

Darter
10-30-2004, 02:46 PM
What tool did you use to get this effect? In R9, the Knife tool in loop mode with 'Restrict to Selection' checked should do this.

LiquidoX
10-30-2004, 03:08 PM
BIg thanks for the tool

:> it works

CGTalk Moderation
01-19-2006, 01:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.