PDA

View Full Version : Doom3 seams


stallion151
10-28-2004, 08:09 AM
hey,

not sure if this has been posted, did a search and nothing directly came up, so hopefully you guys know if this can be fixed? plus doom has kinda gone out of the spotlight. so here goes.

Is there a way to get rid of the model seams in Doom3, I think its the normal maps..? i've read elsewhere where the guy said he reduced the quality to low and it fixed that. But i have tried all my setting ultra through to low and it hasn't changed.
Its a black seam going through half the mesh/characters and the bumps don't appear that well, as seen in other pictures.

Is there something i am missing or a fix for this.
I am using this graphics driver....
http://h18007.www1.hp.com/support/files/hpcpqnk/us/download/21005.html

I have a Doom3 with the .1 update
My computer is HP P4 2.8ghz laptop a Radeon 9000 128mb with 1GB Ram, and 40gb H/D.

Thanks.

TheNeverman
10-28-2004, 03:49 PM
Are you talking about seams on id's models or models you've created yourself?

n8

stallion151
10-28-2004, 11:07 PM
yeh all the characters in the game, the marine at the very start, the guy sitting down on the bench. Everything that moves basically has a black seam, its looks like a gradient from the centre to left side of the body.

I can get a screenshot for you guys next week, as i don't have the internet at home.
But until then, do you have the same problem, or have seen anything like this?

YankyBJeans
10-29-2004, 09:07 AM
when i played it i noticed that there was an obvious seam-look to the texture, and in some places the actual model. However I never got any odd lines or missing pieces. It was more of a lack of texture or pucker in the model. Perhaps your vid card quality settings are losing something (assuming youre at low quality) or maybe your card is having probs with the game textures.

yanky

stephen2002
10-29-2004, 08:36 PM
I noticed pretty obvious seams in the texture maps of the character models, where they had been obviously mirrored, but no black lines. I played at High detail level.

Pin_pal
10-29-2004, 08:41 PM
Carmack himself was talking about the seam problem in a video. If he can't fix it.....

Surly Bird
10-29-2004, 11:23 PM
Here's some more info on it:

http://pc.gamespy.com/pc/doom-3/539049p1.html?fromint=1

stallion151
10-31-2004, 09:12 PM
yeh mine is supposedly fixed with a patch from ATI, releasing there Catalyst 4.9 drivers, but mine aren't installing properly, i'll keep trying with that but this is basically what on get.
In the picture the left is a painted equivelant of what i get and the right is what it is supposed to be.

stallion151
11-03-2004, 08:57 PM
bump........

stallion151
12-02-2004, 08:48 PM
ok here's how to fix it. Its as simple as going into the DoomConfig.txt file in the doom3 folder and changing

seta Image_UseNormalCompression "1"

"1" = 256bit colour compression rendering
"2" = rgyb colour compression rendering

setting that to 1 should fix it for ATI and NVidia cards that are experiencing the same problems.

maxrelics
12-02-2004, 09:38 PM
thanks for the info dude I'll make sure to do this next time i get around to playing (whenever that is...)

CGTalk Moderation
01-19-2006, 05:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.