PDA

View Full Version : Best Lightwave Specs

Glasko
10-28-2004, 05:22 AM
Well, I've purchased LightWave3D as a student. Now, I'm getting a new computer with student loan money (think I'll spend anywhere from 500 to 1000) and I'd really like the best computer I can have with that budget for running a utility of this power. I noticed the minimum requirements, but what would you guys particularly reccomend? Right now I'm a big Wings3D modeler, so I'm used a modeler that can fit on a floppy disk... I'm really entering a whole new realm of 3D, and I want to do it right. Thanks for the guidance-- peace, Dan

Para
10-28-2004, 07:01 AM
You'll want a lots of everything - lots of MHz in the processor, lots of RAM and lots of OpenGL power. For example I paid a little less than 1000 euros (~1200 dollars) for my current rig and it runs LW quite smoothly. I did take some old parts to it from my old computer though.

You may want to consider 64bit processors since LW is going to be 64bit in the future and those are actually quite cheap. Good amount of RAM is generally considered to be over one gigabyte, preferably DDR-RAM. With the graphics card you must find yourself a compromise between games and work since ATi's cards rule on D3D which is used mostly on games and nVidia rules on OpenGL which is used a whole bunch of professional apps including Lightwave.

Oh, here's my current rig's important parts for comparison: Athlon64 3400+, 1gig of 400MHz DDR-RAM, Radeon 9600 Pro (bottleneck of my system). Runs LW pretty smoothly and games are also playable. Good system for a student :)

MattClary
10-28-2004, 02:47 PM
As much CPU and RAM as you can afford, and as much consumer-level video card as you can afford.

Pretty much sums it up.

Signal2Noise
10-28-2004, 06:06 PM
Like others have mentioned already: CPU, RAM, and a good vid card.