PDA

View Full Version : Auto Clone not working?

Ben Sones
10-25-2004, 08:21 PM
All right, I've never used auto clone before, so I figured I'd try it out on an old 3D render of mine. But I can't get it to work! I followed the Help instructions precisely, opened my image, cloned it, made sure that the clone source was set to the original image, selected the clone brush that I wanted (clone color on)... but the auto clone option is grayed out in the Effects/Esoterica menu (the Auto Van Gogh option is also grayed out). Is there something I'm missing here? If I paint with my current brush, it clones the original image just fine. Is there something else that I need to do to enable to auto clone option?

Jinbrown
10-25-2004, 10:11 PM
Make sure the Painter IX or Painter 8 Colors palette's Clone Color icon is depressed.

In earlier versions, make sure the Colors section's Clone Color box is checked.

nafa
10-26-2004, 02:25 AM
In my experiment, autocloning does not work with all clone brushes. However, I found at least these works:

Van Gogh Cloner
Pencil sketch cloner
Impressionist cloner

There must be others. I also found that oil brush cloner and bristle brush clone do not work.

mokba
10-29-2004, 04:10 AM
So far my autoclone experience has been similar to Ben. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. I can open a few files and it works beautifully. Open another and try it and it is no go. I have dutifully followed Jin's suggestion regarding the clone color button but this doesn't seem to guarentee that autoclone will be highlighted under the esoterica choices. Having tried to find a common thread to when it works and when it doesn't I have to go with the thought that it works when it wants to or only has so many autoclones at the ready before you have to shut down the software and restart. Any ideas would be appreciated. mokba

sand dragon
10-29-2004, 09:58 PM