PDA

View Full Version : Time to upgrade my pc. need advice


phgroove
10-25-2004, 03:28 AM
Sadly my trusted system just drop dead, so it's time for an upgrade.
My old system was built as follow:
mobo: WinFast K7NCR18D-Pro
Processor: AMD Athlon XP 2100+
Memory: 2 Kingston 256MB PC2700 333MHz 32x64 DDR 184Pin
Videocard: maddog predator MX 440 8X GeForce4
HD: 4 maxtor 160 8MB cache ATA133

Mobo and processor are toasted and I was thinking in buying new ones and new memory.

I'm strugling between Athlon XP 3200+ and Pentium 4 3.2 GHz

My budget can reach about $600 and what I found so far is this, need your opinion and suggestions.

Intel
Intel Pentium 4/ 3.2E GHz 800MHz FSB, 1MB L2 Cache, Hyper Threading Technology - Retail $221

SOYO "SY-P4I875P DRAGON 2 v1.0" i875P Chipset Motherboard for Intel Socket 478 CPU -RETAIL (http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProductDesc.asp?description=13-139-139&catalog=23&manufactory=BROWSE) $168


Corsair Value Select Dual Kits 184 Pin 1G(512MBx2) DDR PC-2700 - OEM (http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProductDesc.asp?description=20-145-439&catalog=23&manufactory=BROWSE) $169

Total $558
AMD

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ "Barton", 400MHz FSB, 512K Cache Processor - OEM (http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProductDesc.asp?description=19-103-391&catalog=23&manufactory=BROWSE) $169

GIGABYTE "GA-7N400 Pro2 Rev 2" nForce2 Ultra 400 Chipset Motherboard for AMD Socket A CPU -RETAIL (http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProductDesc.asp?description=13-128-199&catalog=23&manufactory=BROWSE) $97


Corsair XMS Extreme Memory Speed Series, (Twin Pack) 184 Pin 1GB(512MBx2) DDR PC-3200 - Retail $235
(http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProductDesc.asp?description=20-145-450&catalog=23&manufactory=BROWSE)
Total $501
Maybe a good mobo for the pentium for less bucks?
I need one with ATA133, 6 channel on board audi.
Maybe I can recycle the memory I already have, any problem mixing kingstone with conair?

Thank fon any advice

PhGroove

-
-

lv-88
10-25-2004, 07:23 PM
If you're looking at AMD then you should think about getting an Amd 64, not the old barton etc.
The Amd 64 might be a little bit more expensive then the usual socket a but it's worth it! ;)

maninflash
10-26-2004, 10:30 AM
First of all you need to see what software you're going to use, becasue the logical way to choose hardware is for a specific package since every software has its own needs.

But overall, you should avoid mixing memory, either use Kingston or Corsair, but mixing them will give you crashes.

Athlon has better memory bandwidth (faster access to RAM) and can address more physical memory, the limit for Windows XP is 4GB. but in reality, there is no operating system, software or program that's built upon 64bit technology (except Linux64 distros and Win XP 64bit edition which is still in Beta) so it's basicaly useless, however, as things are moving now, 64bit softwares will hit the market in about two years.

Read these articles and tests below comparing the two processor:

http://www.gamepc.com/labs/view_content.asp?id=athlon64&page=1 (http://www.gamepc.com/labs/view_content.asp?id=athlon64&page=1)
http://www.digital-daily.com/cpu/athlon64fx-p4ee/index03.htm (http://www.digital-daily.com/cpu/athlon64fx-p4ee/index03.htm)
http://www.gamepc.com/labs/view_content.asp?id=athlon64&page=8 (http://www.gamepc.com/labs/view_content.asp?id=athlon64&page=8)
http://www.gamepc.com/labs/view_content.asp?id=athlon64&page=9 (http://www.gamepc.com/labs/view_content.asp?id=athlon64&page=9)

I personaly would choose AMD Athlon64 3200 becasue of it's better memory bandwidth.

The best motherboard for Athlon64 3200 is Asus K8V Deluxe, it has everything you need, plus it has onboard RAID0 Controllers.

http://www.asus.com/prog/spec.asp?m=K8V%20Deluxe&langs=01 (http://www.asus.com/prog/spec.asp?m=K8V%20Deluxe&langs=01)

Only one disadvantage to the Asus board is that it only has three slots for installing RAM, so you're automatically limited to 3GB memory, which is okay for now, on 32bit architecture, programs under Windows can not use more than 1.5GB of physical memory. Corsair's DDR 400/DDR2 is the best quality out there

hope that helps :)

-Michael

wurp
10-26-2004, 10:34 AM
Just as a note, I thought about the Asus K8V Deluxe mobo as well, didnt get one tho as its based on the VIA chipset, and that has a history of not working very well...


So i got one of these instead: http://www.msicomputer.com/product/p_spec.asp?model=K8N_Neo2_Platinum&class=mb

its based on the nvidia chipset and also has everything you need, at least for now

as for cpu I would go with a 3500+, if you go higher the cpu will cost a lot more, so I dont think its wortht the extra money to get for example a 3800+ instead.

lv-88
10-26-2004, 01:23 PM
the card you linked to wurp is nice since it's based on the nf3

and as you said, there is no need for buying a 3800+ instead of a 3500+ since the difference isn't that big at all.

adam-b
10-26-2004, 05:43 PM
Well...if you think that a 3200+ is enough, then you could try to get a 2500+ Barton (rare).
You would save sth like 100$ and you can OC almost any 2500+ to 3200+ without extra heatsinks or such stuff...
mine works very well, now on 42C and 1300 rpm... ;)

is just an idea....if you like "playin'" with your hardware...

MadMax
10-26-2004, 06:47 PM
Well...if you think that a 3200+ is enough, then you could try to get a 2500+ Barton (rare).
You would save sth like 100$ and you can OC almost any 2500+ to 3200+ without extra heatsinks or such stuff...
mine works very well, now on 42C and 1300 rpm... ;)

is just an idea....if you like "playin'" with your hardware...
He would be far better off getting an A64 3200 which is currently only 215.00 for a 90nm, socket 939 cpu, and an Epox 939 board is like 129.00

No way would I recommend to anyone something as lackluster as the A8V. nForce3 250 ultra has far more usable features than the VIA board.

phgroove
10-27-2004, 05:51 AM
Thank you all, I set my mind on this config.

AMD Athlon 64 3500+, 512K, L2 Cache, Windows Compatible 64-bit Processor 939 Pin - Retail (http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=19-103-463&catalog=23&manufactory=BROWSE&depa=1)

MSI "K8N Neo2 Platinum" NVIDIA nForce3 ULTRA Chipset Motherboard For AMD Socket 939 CPU -RETAIL (http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=13-130-468&catalog=23&manufactory=BROWSE&depa=1)

CORSAIR XMS Xtreme Memory Speed Series, Xtra-Low Latency 184-Pin 1GB(512MBx2) DDR PC-3200 w/ Platinum Heat Spreader, Model TWINX1024-3200XLPT - Retail (http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=20-145-523&catalog=23&manufactory=BROWSE&depa=1)


and after found out that my video card is gone too here ther rest.

CHAINTECH nVIDIA GeForce FX5700LE Video Card, 256MB DDR, 128-bit, DVI/TV-Out, AGP, Model "SA5700L" -RETAIL (http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=14-145-078&catalog=23&manufactory=BROWSE&depa=1)

This is what my budget allows me, hopefully the video card is not that bad compare to the old one I had (GeForce4 MX440) and is gonna fit nicely with the other parts.

I'm gonna use Max 6 and fR and maybe vray in the near feuture.


Comments still welcome

PhGroove

-
-

Rabid pitbull
10-27-2004, 07:23 AM
fx5700 is much better than the mx440.:thumbsup: That is a good price too.

lv-88
10-27-2004, 06:33 PM
nice to hear you choosed the athlon 64 ;)

phgroove
10-28-2004, 12:38 AM
Yeap, I just made the order, at this point the 64 looks like a better choice, can't wait to start rendering with this little fella, hopefully ti wont disappoint me.

Thanks to everyone

PhGroove

-
-

CGTalk Moderation
01-19-2006, 04:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.