PDA

View Full Version : FXWars! RollerCoaster!: Sir_Vulcan

Sir_Vuclan
10-24-2004, 11:38 PM
Ok, This is my first try at any competition here, hope I dont come in last. Anyways here's my first tests. It doesnt look like much yet, but I wanted to get the Physics setup first, then I'll work on the design and modeling. I am using Max6 and Reactor 2.

I only have two cars so far, to setup the main wheels and links between cars. Ill add more later including the under and (maybe) inner wheels.

:bounce:
LINK TO FINISHED COASTER PAGE
http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?p=1766635&posted=1#post1766635

Sir_Vuclan
10-24-2004, 11:42 PM
Few More...

colt
10-24-2004, 11:43 PM
Hey, looking nice. But what about turns? :p

Sir_Vuclan
10-26-2004, 01:55 AM
Got an update, I finally got it to go over the loop, theres to much drag some where. Hopefully my new version will work better.

Anyways here's one of my tests .mov
http://www.uni-weimar.de/~rehberg/vulcan/CarPhysicsTest03.mov

Tell me what you think...

Sir_Vuclan
10-27-2004, 09:56 PM
Ok, im having a lot of trouble with the banking around turns and loops and such. I have tried to use splines, NURBS, and bones.

The spline won't let me control the banking and often banks the wrong way or just makes a complete flip.
The NURBS is great for controling banking with the 2-rail extrude, but then it scales the track to fit between the lines, so my rollercoaster can't go down it because the track changes shape.
the bone idea that Ironlips is using is really nice, but he's using Lightwave and I cant seem to find such a nice feature like that in 3Ds max6. I know it has the spline IK chain, but I have to make each and every bone, and then go back and change the height so there all the same.

I have also thought of just using a mesh and then extruding and moving, extruding and moving, but that would take forever to do, and no easy way to edit the track once is done.