PDA

View Full Version : Modelling technique

deathbard
08-19-2002, 06:34 PM
First post..yay

Anyways I'm pretty new to 3d and max even though I did use it a few months ago for a month or 2 an thus I have some basic knowledge of most tools. I'm currently trying to get to modelling a character(or part ) but when I look on these boards everybody talks about all these modelling techs and most I don't know . Bassicly the only one I really know is boxmoddeling and then meshsmooth the damn thing. I know what poly's are and stuff, just not what those techniques are supposed to mean. So..(what a shitload of text eh ) can anybody enlighten me? What are the techs, what are the advantiges and which ones are easy to start out with. Maybe some links with examples and tuts?..anyways thanks in advance..

Youri

zou
08-19-2002, 08:58 PM
hello
sometimes i'm like you when asking like a novice, how ?
no replies !!!!
i'm not a master but i know that with box modeling or low poly you can do all stuff (organic charcter etc) you can also use spline modeling (i use max) or nurbs (use rhino it's more powerfull than max in this one. i just tried low poly, splines, nurbs but the easiest one is low poly it's also powerfull you can add details as much as you want.
you can find other tech but i find that those one satisfy myself.
the best tutors for medling can be found at mr2k.3dvf.com (french)
one tutor can be found at 3dtotal in english.

do all the tutors they are all important

ciao

deathbard
08-19-2002, 10:13 PM
Yeah I had already found the join d'arc tut but the char was a little too hard I guess...The legs turned out ok though:)...the head part I found really difficult...anyways thanks for replying.

Youri

Nemises
08-20-2002, 03:32 AM
I'm also no 3d master or anything, but for the lack of any other replies, I'll put in my 2c.

The three main devisions (and there could be more?) in modelling are:

Polygons
NURBS
SubD