PDA

View Full Version : Grand Space Opera 2D Entry: Jonathan Myers

Texamosix
10-19-2004, 04:36 AM
Jonathan Myers has entered the Grand Space Opera 2D.

Texamosix
10-19-2004, 05:08 AM
Bear with me here, I'm venturing into unexplored territory. I've never done a real project like this before... with all the planning, proffesionalism, and unbelievable competition (truly, there is some amazing stuff here). I consider myself a decent artist, but I'm better at copying something from real life than making up something on my own.

I was real excited to see the topic of this challenge, but I was already working on a space scene with planets, ships, etc. So, I wanted to do something that focused on a different aspect of the battle. Instead of the drama of the ships and explosions, I wanted to show the emotion of the people involved in the battle.

Looking at my concept sketch now, I think it's pretty lame... but, it was the first thing I saw when I read "Space Opera". If I decide to follow through with this sketch I will techno-fy the scene up abunch.

Anways, here's my concept sketch (pencil and paper ~ 5 X 3 in.):

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v397/Texamosix/ConceptSketch1.jpg

As you can see, I don't really stand much of a chance against all the studs here. I'm really just excited to compete against such great artists and hopefully boost my creative artistic abilities. Good luck to all... I'm expecting big things out of you guys. :)

P.S. I don't have a drawing pad, so this will be done with a mouse :eek:

Texamosix
10-20-2004, 07:26 AM
By the way, I see some peoples' images have the copyright and CG Talk text on them... do I need to be submitting these WIP's somewhere?

(Nevermind) :)

Texamosix
10-20-2004, 07:43 AM
[/url]

Developed on that last sketch a little more... I hate the colors, but they're the only three pencils I had on me .