PDA

View Full Version : Animation:Dangerous!

disrupt
10-14-2004, 03:01 PM
This was my entry for the Deathfall.com animation competition. I would like to get some feedback on it. What works and what doesn't? How can I improve this? This was done in Maya.(It is about 2.2MB)

http://www.motionmeanie.com/videos/Dangerous_Final.mpg

animation_child
10-14-2004, 10:11 PM
*the poses could be much stronger. ie. much more of a tense feeling or of anxiety.. a building up of stress or emotion.
*you could touch it up with stronger expressions with the gestures of the hands.
*the timing to could be worked on more.. the over all feeling is floaty.
*there should be more eye contact between the speaker and the audience.
*the timing could be tweaked out more when he pauses between talking or when he is taking in a breath.
*i cant read his lips too much at all.
*the end part could be strengthed much more, it is the climax of the conversation and all.

note, im just a student in animation so take what you can or want out of it.

disrupt
10-15-2004, 02:42 PM
Thanks alot for your comments. I am going to make another pass, I will try to focus on the things you mentioned. Great comments. Any more?

(3C)machine
10-15-2004, 10:21 PM
I agree, you are off to a really great start! The very end, you might want to consider a more sinister gesture, like a turning of the head to the camera intead of the open hands gesture. Might help establish the unsettling moment better.

robvmonte
10-16-2004, 04:41 AM
Ok the hands are huge so that means that they are a what gives the character personality, so you want to be more expressive with the hands, make them do more, wave a round, hand gestures when talking. Something! Not to much though or it will take away the viewer from seeing the animation because he will be focused on the hands.

disrupt
10-18-2004, 04:16 PM
Right on! Thanks for the ideas. I will be fixing things up and posting again. Great comments! You have given me some great ideas.

jondafonte