PDA

View Full Version : Will Max 6 run on this?


EvilPuppet117
10-13-2004, 03:56 PM
jw, Im trying to save up for a laptop since Ive wanted one for several years now. Will 3Ds Max 6 run well on this laptop?

http://products.gateway.com/products/GConfig/prodDetails.asp?system_id=m520sb&seg=ed#4

Goon
10-13-2004, 04:09 PM
Screen
http://www.gateway.com/img/ub/clear.gif
15" XGA TFT Active Matrix
http://www.gateway.com/img/ub/clear.gif http://www.gateway.com/img/ub/clear.gif
http://www.gateway.com/img/ub/clear.gif
Video
http://www.gateway.com/img/ub/clear.gif
Integrated Intel® Extreme 2 Graphics w/ UMA
http://www.gateway.com/img/ub/clear.gif
Up to 64MB of video memory is available to use with 256MB system memory standard.
Hard Drive 3 (http://products.gateway.com/products/GConfig/prodconfig.asp?system_id=m520sb&seg=ed#3)
http://www.gateway.com/img/ub/clear.gif
40GB 4200rpm Ultra ATA hard drive
http://www.gateway.com/img/ub/clear.gif
Hard drive accessible capacity varies; GB = 1 billion bytes.

Do NOT buy this laptop. The video card doesn't even really qualify as a video card, and the hard drive is SLOW. If you do any sort of video editing that hard drive will kill you. And if you play games, your load times, will be horrible, and any 3d performance will be extremely slow.

Try to get something that has a max ram of 2gigs (you don't need to put that much in, but the upgradeability is nice, maybe actually put in 512mgs-1gig), a 7200rpm hd if possible, a screen with a resolution of at least 1280x1024 (UXGA 1600x1200 or more is preferrable), and a moderately good video card (nvidia ti4200 or fx5200 will work, though you can certainly do better. Preferrably 64mbs of video ram or more).

I would recommend a brand like Dell over gateway. I just sold my dell laptop, and except for it getting extremely hot under high workloads, I was very satisfied with it.

Also, I would seriously recommend getting a desktop instead of a laptop: they are cheaper, you can upgrade them, they are more powerful, and if something breaks, you personally can repair it. Also when I had a laptop, I didn't transport it as much as i thought i would. It was extremely useful for my 3d labs, and when I had to get a paper written between classes, but otherwise, I used it as a desktop.

ferdi2000
10-13-2004, 04:39 PM
It will run no probs, but Id say get a desktop if you want to use 3dMax to the max :D Always nice to be able upgrade your graphics card when needed also.

imashination
10-13-2004, 05:31 PM
jw, Im trying to save up for a laptop since Ive wanted one for several years now. Will 3Ds Max 6 run well on this laptop?

No it won't run well. The intel gfx chip is hardly worth the silicon its made with. If ou're on a budget, find something with a geforece GO chipset or ATI radeon mobile at the very least.

EvilPuppet117
10-14-2004, 02:16 AM
Thanks a lot. You guys probably saved me a thousand bucks not to mention frustration over the slow performance:applause: . And yes I am on a budget since I am a teenager, and I only have a thousand dollars saved up. Once my bday and Christmas comes (they are both in the same month:buttrock: ) I will get some extra cash and next year I might get a job O_O

Oh yea, and Goon, could you send a link to the laptop you had or post the specs if it isnt too much trouble?

Goon
10-14-2004, 03:36 PM
Dell 5150
P4 3.0 ghz not hyperthreaded
768 mgs of ram (came with 256)
30gig 5200 rpm hd (rather slow)
Nvidia 5200 64mgs of ram
UXGA screen
16xDVD/24xCDRW

I got it on ebay for $1500 (be very careful about buying on ebay. Of the five laptops I seriously considered, one was a confirmed scam, and three were likely scams).

Its main problem, and one of the reasons I traded it in for a desktop was it got horribly hot when under prolonged high workload. Typing on a 100+ degree keyboard isn't fun.

EvilPuppet117
10-15-2004, 05:10 AM
The reason I am not getting a desktop is because I do and will be traveling a lot, and would like to keep learning 3D as much as possible. This is something I have wanted to do since I first played video games.

Anyways, this is what Im looking to get for around $1,350 since I am on a budget. I think it will do but I wanted to get a second opinion....and BTW, 3Ds Max 6 can't possibly run slower than what it is now because I have my parents old compaq presario celeron processor, 2.4 ghz (if you're lucky!) 128 mb ram :banghead: 40 GB hd half used up!!! :twisted:

Heres the laptop:

Dell Inspiron 9100
P4 3.0 GHz
512 megs of ram (free upgrade from 256)
40 gig hd (not sure about the rpm doesnt say....)
ATI Mobility Radeon 9700 video card with 64 megs
15.4-inch Wide-Aspect WXGA, SXGA+ and UXGA displays
24X CD-RW/DVD Combo Drive

brzilian
10-15-2004, 03:55 PM
Go with an eMachine's laptop if you're on a budget. I have an older Athlon 2500XP-M based one with 512Mb of RAM, ATI video, a 5400 RPM 60 Gb HD and a 15.4" widescreen display. It runs Max, Rhino and Solidworks just fine. I paid $1000 after rebates back in Jan.

Their newer laptops all use Athlon-64 processors now.

EvilPuppet117
10-15-2004, 10:03 PM
Thanks brzilian I'll look into the emachine laptop.

EDIT: Found one for $1,250 after rebates, here are the quick specs. I think this one is the one :)

AMD Athlon 3000+ Processor (2.2 GHz)
60 GB HD
512 MB DDR SODIMM (PC 2700)
ATI Radeon IGP 320 64 MB
CDRW/DVD Combo Drive (24x24x24 CD-RW; 8x max. DVD-ROM)

imashination
10-15-2004, 10:18 PM
Thanks brzilian I'll look into the emachine laptop.

EDIT: Found one for $1,250 after rebates, here are the quick specs. I think this one is the one :)

AMD Athlon 3000+ Processor (2.2 GHz)
60 GB HD
512 MB DDR SODIMM (PC 2700)
ATI Radeon IGP 320 64 MB
CDRW/DVD Combo Drive (24x24x24 CD-RW; 8x max. DVD-ROM)

LOL, umm, try again. The radeon IGP chipset is almost as bad. Find a geforce GO chipset or Radeon mobile chipset.

EvilPuppet117
10-15-2004, 10:21 PM
hmm........this is going to take me ahwile. Anyone have any suggestions for a laptop under $1500 since I am not doing very well as you can see :)

I think I'll be going with the Inspiron 9100 it looks ok. If anyone has any experience with it or info about it please dont hesitate to reply :D

brzilian
10-16-2004, 02:47 PM
hmm........this is going to take me ahwile. Anyone have any suggestions for a laptop under $1500 since I am not doing very well as you can see :)

I think I'll be going with the Inspiron 9100 it looks ok. If anyone has any experience with it or info about it please dont hesitate to reply :D
http://www.emachines.com/products/products.html?prod=eMachines_M6810

EvilPuppet117
10-16-2004, 08:07 PM
http://www.emachines.com/products/products.html?prod=eMachines_M6810
Ok. One last question I promise! :) Are Athlons better at running Max than P4s?

dotTom
10-16-2004, 09:15 PM
Ok. One last question I promise! :) Are Athlons better at running Max than P4s?Oh Gods No! Intel vs. AMD. This one will run and run... Bottom line, if you've chosen a laptop (and I understand your travel needs) then you've already commited to less system performance for your $.

Personally, I think you could look at getting a small form factor PC from a company like Shuttle, add a small flat panel to this and you get a lot of the portability of a laptop but with seriously upgradable graphics options - plus the ability to put a 400 GB drive in there which you can fill up with art assets. Seriously, put 2GB of ram in this thing and it rocks.

If you can afford to buy Max 6 for yourself I really think the laptop is a huge mistake as your primary "workstation".

Really, don't get a laptop for a $3,500 graphics package - it's a huge mistake.

EvilPuppet117
10-18-2004, 02:59 AM
It's not my primary workstation, and I didn't buy Max, my dad did.

Also, I didn't mean which one was better, I meant which one would be better for my situation, which is running Max and several other programs. You must remember, I am on a budget and travel a lot. Even though I will still use this computer as my primary workstation, I am trying to learn and practice Max as much as possible, and a laptop is perfect for me. I know I am sacrifcing system performance, but as long as Max will run OK, my other programs should too and I will be fine.

So, if anyone knows what processor Max has worked good or better on for them, I would really like to know.

brzilian
10-18-2004, 03:24 PM
It's not my primary workstation, and I didn't buy Max, my dad did.

Also, I didn't mean which one was better, I meant which one would be better for my situation, which is running Max and several other programs. You must remember, I am on a budget and travel a lot. Even though I will still use this computer as my primary workstation, I am trying to learn and practice Max as much as possible, and a laptop is perfect for me. I know I am sacrifcing system performance, but as long as Max will run OK, my other programs should too and I will be fine.

So, if anyone knows what processor Max has worked good or better on for them, I would really like to know.
I run MAX on an Intel on my desktop and on the Athlon inside my eMachines laptop. My desktop is a P4-2.26Ghz system running on an Intel 845EBT chipset, the laptop as I stated before is an Athlon 2500+ XP-M chip. Both systems have 512Mb of RAM and I see no real loss in performance when using MAX on the laptop. Both systems are running XP Pro.

EvilPuppet117
10-18-2004, 04:01 PM
Thank you for the helpful reply brzilian. I think I have made my decision. Thanks for helping everyone.

CGTalk Moderation
01-19-2006, 01:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.