PDA

View Full Version : Workstation Setup


jribbe1
10-11-2004, 01:40 AM
Hi everyone. I am sure this has been asked a thousand time but here goes. I am ready for a computer that will make max 6 cry. Price is no object i can get whatever. I want my max 6 to render at blazing speeds so i was thinking about adding an art vps puredrive card to the setup. But as far as specs go. I was thinking;

- Dual Xeons 3.6 with 2 gigs of Corsair XMS2 Pro memory
- 168 gigs of seagate ultra 320 15,000rpm scsi storage
- quadro 4000/4400 or the 3dlabs realizm 800 (I spoke to the guy at 3d labs and he said how it would crush the competition and adding a PURE card would make it even better, but i know that could be just sales talk) i am very weary about what video card to get.
- either supermicro or tyan thunder mobo

FOR RENDERING: i want to render very very high 2,000,000+ poly scenes without sweating if i need to. Should i get a few render nodes from BOXX tech to help with that? If i do i have a 4 computer network render setup here and i dont want to have to send it to the render que and have it piece the image together in a folder, is there a way to network render and have it display the final results on my screen interactively?

VIEWPORT DISPLAY: I want to be able to smoothly and quickly fly through my scenes with high poly counts with no problem as well.

WHAT DO YOU GUYS RECOMMEND. Thanks

evanfotis
10-11-2004, 02:22 PM
If cost is no problem look into these workstations:
http://www.go-l.com/workstations/index.htm
And be sure to confi a system that uses PU-RAM, that boots OS, and software from a flash mem RAM , blazing fast:
http://www.go-l.com/desktops/machl38/architecture/index.htm
Apart from that, do install more RAM, what can just 2gb suffice for?
Then use supermicro instead of Tyan, that I think uses via chipsets.
For digitizing think of Microscribe , (http://www.immersion.com/digitizer/)and for modeling use something like SpaceBall 5000, or the other claw style,
and use 3d stereo displays, or have a look at http://www.go-l.com/monitors/index.htm.
This is for starters. You can go on using medea arrays, pure render card etc.etc.

jribbe1
10-11-2004, 02:28 PM
yea i have seen go-l already but their new machines are not out yet.

lots
10-11-2004, 03:01 PM
Go-l really bothers me. Has anyone actually ever recieved a machine from them?

Wasnt there a thread about them a while ago?

imashination
10-11-2004, 04:24 PM
1) Don't listen to what 3dlabs have to say about 3dlabs cards. Its like listening to what apple say about apple machines. Look for independent third party reviews.

2) 2 million polys isnt very very very high, its about average these days.

3) Do you need a 15,000rpm harddrive? it will be very very noisey and wont give any worthwhile benefit to a 3d station.

jribbe1
10-11-2004, 04:53 PM
well i would go as many poly's as possible 10 mil if i need to, i do complex particle animation, and simulations. i want speed with transfers as well, that is why i chose the 15k U320, i dont care about noise. imashination, did you have a bad experience with 3dlabs?

Also Lots, i actually submitted a inquiry twice to go-l and never heard a word back, so that just shows you how important customers are.

leas5040
10-11-2004, 04:59 PM
I wouldn't recommend L computers. MaxPc has had an editorial about them several times, and with all of MaxPc's subscribers, they've only received 3 responses from owners of L computers. I would stick with what is tried and true for right now; I don't think L is going anywhere at the moment.

CGTalk Moderation
01-19-2006, 01:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.