PDA

View Full Version : Glass without raytrace


xiao_x
10-09-2004, 01:40 PM
hi,i wanna ask a question,can i render a transperant glass witout raytrace tranperant,reflection
and refraction???after model a glass and add a thickness i only use one surface only,i see some tutorial will add two surface,glass inside and outside.....can i do only with 1 surface???did that surface need double site on the surface???


sory for my terrible broken english......:shrug:

gerardo
10-10-2004, 01:28 AM
Depending on the material, perhaps you can do it without reflections (you can simulate it with relative success) but to simulate refractions, maybe in post, but in a 3D software I don't think so. Maybe you want to take a look to this plug-in, simulates absorption of light for translucent / transparent objects; works without raytrace:
ASA_LASI
http://www.lw-fin.org/plugins/asa/lasi/plug_lasi.html



Gerardo

xiao_x
10-13-2004, 03:13 AM
gerardo,the website u give me look like very nice......,but i didin`t know how to use it,any tutoria or sample???

gerardo
10-13-2004, 11:54 PM
mmm... I remember this tutorial came with files :hmm:



Gerardo

Para
10-14-2004, 05:20 AM
mmm... I remember this tutorial came with files :hmm:

Possible, but I don't think Asa is going to do anything about it. (if you remember his LW bug threads, you won't even ask "Why?")

gerardo
10-14-2004, 06:46 AM
What a pity; this plug had the potential of simulating Color Filter without Raytracing, what would allow to fake quickly GI with IBL.



Gerardo

Para
10-14-2004, 09:07 AM
Well, there's always Coffee! (http://koti.mbnet.fi/anttij77/Plugins/Coffee.html)

Maybe that helps?

gerardo
10-14-2004, 10:38 PM
Does Coffee work without Raytracing?



Gerardo

CGTalk Moderation
01-19-2006, 09:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.