PDA

View Full Version : Welllp....Time For An Upgrade


nubian
10-08-2004, 07:03 PM
i was thinking on getting these:

Asus A8V Deluxe (http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProductDesc.asp?description=13-131-510&depa=1)

Athlon 64 FX-53 (http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=19-103-459&depa=1[/url)

what would the significant difference be with the fx 53 than from a from an xp3200?
approx how much faster will my render times get?

thanks in advance

Vertizor
10-08-2004, 07:55 PM
Depends on what renderer you're using. With that said, what renderer are/will you using?

lots
10-08-2004, 10:44 PM
Well for one the Athlon XP 3200 is a different breed of chip than the FX 53... The XP3200 is a previous version of the Athlon and such, is slower in many respects and does not support 64bit or any of the other features found on the Athlon64 chips. Also the FX 53 is a real expencive chip. If you are shooting for socket 939, which it looks like you are, I'd try and get an Athlon 64 3800+ (retail or OEM, no refurbished :/) http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=19-103-465&depa=0, its roughly 200 dollars less and the only real difference is the fact it has 512k cache insted of 1MB, but from what I've seen, this difference matters very little due in part to the onboard memory controller's low latencies to the core. They are the same GHz as well and both support dual channel ram. So you wont be losing very much performance and you will reduce your costs by 200 dollars.. thats a big deal, at least to me :)

The alternative, is to go for the Athlon FX 53 for socket 940, and a socket 940 motherboard. This chip is significantly cheaper than the 939 FX53 (about $550) but should be the same thing. Granted this is using the Opteron socket, it may prove benificial in the future when AMD's Opterons go Dual core and you'll be able to upgrade your single cpu system to a dual cpu system.

The last alternative I have is to get the Athlon 64 3500+ for socket 939, its roughly $350ish dollars and should prove to be pretty quick.

When it comes to render times, like stated before me, it depends on your application and other factors. But if you're upgrading from something fairly old (3+ years old maybe), you most likely will see a pretty big performance gain.

nubian
10-09-2004, 01:38 AM
thanks for the replies.

well maybe i should've posted my current setup.

asus a7n8x deluxe R.2.00 rev 1005
athlon xp 3000+ bartons 400 mhz
1 x (80097-17) corsair twinmx 1024-3200c2pt 1gb ddr400 xms3200 dual-channel memory w/platinum heat spreader
geforce 4600 ti w/ vivo

my bios settings are:

cpu external frequency (mhz) = 190mhz
cpu frequency multipl = 11.5x
cpu interface = aggresssive
memory frequency = 100%
resulting frequency (shaded) = 190mhz
memory timing sdram cas latency = 2t
cpu vcore setting = auto @ 1.650
agp frequency = 66mhz

during the post:
main processor: amd athlon xp 2174 mhz


i really don't know if i'll see a difference as far as basic performance and maya rendering (in general) goes between my setup and what i want as an upgrade

CGTalk Moderation
01-19-2006, 12:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.