PDA

View Full Version : Wip: lavastream

IronGoblin
10-08-2004, 08:49 AM
Howdy.

Gonna apply on a 3dposition at a company working with rocks and stuff (geology might be the correct word..?) Anyways... thought I whip together a few samples in that field.... So i started out with a lavastream.. Using particlefx and hypervoxels... its a viper preview..

Appreciate it if you take time to give me feedback on this one, since i havent done lava before.

Here goes.. (hope the link works):
http://www.firestorm3d.com/flics/lavastream03.avi

Keep on truckin'

Spacemanbob
10-08-2004, 01:48 PM
WHat codec are you using. I get an error viewing it in Mediaplayer.

angel
10-08-2004, 02:08 PM
I've never done lava before but I can give you a couple of suggestions; the mountain side is too dark, at first I thought I was looking at a space scene. The lava is probably too blobby, maybe adding more particles will help to enhance the effect...

IronGoblin
10-08-2004, 05:35 PM
Spacemanbob: i believe its divx.. versionnumber something.. :)

SNoWs: good point. Ill lighten the scene a bit. I did try to add more particles, but i had some problems with them jittering all around because of self interaction. But ill try to add some more, and maybe adjust the settings a bit.

thnx for the feedback..

Keep on truckin'

angel
10-08-2004, 05:39 PM
try with multiple emitters and have them blend in a group and see if that helps.

IronGoblin
10-09-2004, 07:10 AM
Howdy.

Did another preview. Added another particlesystem, made my hv's a tad smaller. made everything a bit brighter. (Still crappy background... :D)

Anyone know how i can make the texture of my hypervoxels rotate along the movement of the particle?

here's the link:
http://www.firestorm3d.com/flics/lavastream04.avi

keep on truckin'

Triple G
10-09-2004, 12:34 PM