PDA

View Full Version : Why Does Windows ignore my Pagefile settings after restart?


bjoern
10-07-2004, 11:18 AM
Why Does Windows ignore my Pagefile settings after restart?
I have done this Pagefile settings ( 512MB on drive c:\ ) for a test. And Yes i did an restart.

Than i got in to my Maya 6 and created a very very dense Cube. To Blow up my Pagefile
to the Maximum. But what's this? WindowsXP ignores my settings!!!
Any solution? :)

http://www.bjoerngromoll.com/Forums/CGTalk/systemtweaks/Pagefile.jpg

MattClary
10-07-2004, 12:07 PM
1mb=1024kb

512mb=524288kb

Looks like it's right on the money to me.

bjoern
10-07-2004, 12:53 PM
what did you talking about? money...? I'm confused

Snappy
10-07-2004, 01:14 PM
That is just an expression. Something being on the money means that its right on. So MattClary is saying that your settings look correct. Or maybe we just don't know what you are asking.

bjoern
10-07-2004, 01:20 PM
Ahh ok, :-)

But,no it does't at all!
Look at the Graph at the Taskmanager it dispays an Graph of 1,1 GB Pagefile...

MattClary
10-07-2004, 01:41 PM
Aaaah, I follow you. I thought you were indicating the file size was wrong. What you are seeing does seem rather odd.

lots
10-07-2004, 03:50 PM
Is that graph showing how much RAM is used? Or, is it showing how much RAM + Page file is used?

If you've got 512 megs of ram and 512 megs for page then it would look right to me..

singularity2006
10-07-2004, 05:26 PM
Is that graph showing how much RAM is used? Or, is it showing how much RAM + Page file is used?

If you've got 512 megs of ram and 512 megs for page then it would look right to me..
YEah, that's right. Windows gives u a combined number for system resources: RAM + Pagefile.

CGTalk Moderation
01-19-2006, 12:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.