PDA

View Full Version : Graphic designer in distress. Mac or Pc notebook?

DYNAMIX2
10-07-2004, 06:04 AM
I'm a graphic designer in distress. Iím currently in the market for a notebook. It will mostly be used for graphic design and presentations but, I as well want it for gaming (I get bored during classes). I was looking into a 15Ē or 17Ē powerbook with all the goodies or alienware between a MJ-12or area-51m. With some researching, Iíve read postís from other members that thereís not much difference between Mac or PC for graphic design. So my question is what I should get myself into. Iíve searched and searched and searched for some advice but truly have not found anything convincing. So, hopefully starting my own thread will give me the advice and help I need to get a respectable, reliable and powerful notebook. Your advice will be truly appreciated!</SPAN>

Rabid pitbull
10-07-2004, 06:34 AM
Really a personal choice here unless a certain application you want is only available on one platform. I have heard some lackluster comments about alienware in the past though, might be better with a different maker on the pc side. In the end it should come down to which you are most comfortable with.

alanmac
10-07-2004, 10:04 AM
As has been said it's a personal choice but also how serious are you about your career and future?

If this is a tool to serve you in the progress of your career and future - that should take priority not the fact you can play games on the thing.

Sorry to sound stuffy but you can always buy a gameboy or consule if you like playing games.

Buying a machine or asking your parents to buy a machine on the basis you need it for your work but although it's not the best option for that it is for games is taking a somewhat shortsighted view of your future.