PDA

View Full Version : Improve RAM Speed


bjoern
10-06-2004, 11:19 PM
Hi

I have 2 GB RAM in my PC.
But all the time it feels like 768mb or lower.

Question:
Is there a Tool witch can forces Windows to use the Pagefile only
if 75% of my RAM is in use?
Because most of the Time 50-75% of my Physical RAM are free. Anyhow
Windows make's use of the Pagefile

For a test I deactivated my Pagefile. From this point my System Runs like Hell !!!
But Photoshop and some other Tools have Problems with this....

I'm grateful for any suggestions? :-)

bjoern
10-06-2004, 11:46 PM
I forgot a little Info: My Current Pagefile has its own partition fo 3GB
And the Pagefile is set to 2048 MB

Hecartha
10-06-2004, 11:57 PM
Is there a Tool witch can forces Windows to use the Pagefile only
if 75% of my RAM is in use?
Because most of the Time 50-75% of my Physical RAM are free. Anyhow
Windows make's use of the Pagefile you can try a shareware, ramidle (http://www.tweaknow.com/ramidle.html). It has an option to "force executive files to remain resident in RAM instead of being moved to Virtual memory"
but i'm not really sure this kind of system tweaker would be good when you're rendering something with any 3d software...

Polar
10-07-2004, 12:55 AM
Try system manage size for the page file setting.This gives me up to 90% ram use, compare to manual setting that gives me around 50%.

Good luck!

singularity2006
10-07-2004, 04:16 AM
Forget the software. It does the same thing the registry edit does. It is covered in depth here in this stickied thread: http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?t=96908

Set your pagefile to 384 - 512MB. That should help a bit too by reducing total overhead for file management. The registry edit shown in that thread is called "DisablePagingExecutive." This should get your system to do what u need it to do.

bjoern
10-07-2004, 08:39 AM
@singularity2006
thanks, i will try this!

@Polar
What settings do you use? I understand your tip not exactly

Hecartha
10-07-2004, 08:52 AM
Forget the software. It does the same thing the registry edit does. It is covered in depth here in this stickied thread: http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?t=96908 interesting and complete :) pay to search

CGTalk Moderation
01-19-2006, 12:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.