PDA

View Full Version : Power Book G4!!

Sagii
10-04-2004, 03:11 PM
Hello, This is not a question really, I am just excited cause I just placed an order or my powerbook G4 2G ram, it came out to be pricy but it has everything I need, and strong enought to run maya and the sorts.. $4500, but I can pay in parts. I know laptops are not as powerful as desktops, but I am a student and always on the go.. Do you guys think this was a good buy... :argh:

peanuckle
10-04-2004, 03:22 PM
I personally would have put in my own RAM. You save mondo cash that way. Other than that I think you will be happy with you computer.

Andrew W
10-04-2004, 03:54 PM
Do you guys think this was a good buy... :argh:
I agree about the RAM thing but I'm thinking I want to do the same. i.e. I want to ditch all my desktop gear for various reasons and replace it with a laptop. Now I'm very agnostic when it comes to OSs, I've used 'em all apart from Solaris. I ruled Linux out for a laptop as many of the things I want to be able to do aren't easily doable on a laptop running Linux yet. So that leaves me with a choice of Windows PC or a Mac. My desktops at home are Windows PCs but I bought a 12" iBook at Christmas as a cheap, small laptop and I've been very impressed thus far. So I specced up equivalent machines on Dell's UK site for a PC and a 15" PowerBook from Apple. The PowerBook came out 200 ($300ish) more expensive, but when you consider that I find OS X is a pleasure to use and that the machine itself is an inch thinner and over 2lbs lighter I think I'm going to buy the Mac. Plus Apple are decent enough to put plenty of developer tools in for free which is a plus, and I like the Unix underpinnings of OS X which means I can run all my shell scripts dating back to my IRIX days. I've gone from being very suspicious of Macs once (and I still maintain that Mac OS 9 was awful) but I think I may now be a convert.

I think you'll be a very happy teddy indeed.

Andrew

maxx10
10-04-2004, 04:24 PM