PDA

View Full Version : 2 Make A Custom Bulit Computer Help

designs2
10-03-2004, 08:25 AM
Hi I Am New To 3d Graphics...i Am Using Maya 6 And I Wanted To Know How To Bulid A Fast Computer With About $4,000 Us Dollars...please Need Help...

Rabid pitbull
10-03-2004, 09:54 PM
Two choices here. Research research research, or call Boxx technologies. Either way you should have a monster pc with that kind of budget. I suggest boxx since they have alot of experience building highend pc's with cg in mind. Sorry for a pretty lame answer to your post but it too general of a question to answer any other way.

designs2
10-04-2004, 01:22 PM
hey thanks for repling...but i researched a lot....huge product list cant decide what to buy for a home built computer...can you help...please....

designs2
10-04-2004, 01:23 PM
hey thanks for repling...but i researched a lot....huge product list cant decide what to buy for a home built computer...can you help...please....i am using maya 6...

please if anybody can send me a configaration....great help it would be.....

tata79
10-15-2004, 09:09 AM
okay, i'm also new in 3d apps, here are the list if i may suggest (i have use these spec at home and never encounter any problem) :
for Mobo : Tyan thunder K8W S2885 (it has NUMA technology)
for processor : AMD Opteron 248 of 250
for graphic card : Quadro 4000 of Wildcat Realizm 200
for RAM : Corsair 2gig
for harddrive : SATA 120gb
for PSU :300w at least or 525 better
casing : super tower from lian li or Xaser III from thermaltake

hopes my spec could help

maninflash
10-16-2004, 05:04 PM
The spec tata79 said is good. For monitor, ViewSonic has the best quality. Also you may want to have a smaller SCSI hard drive for applications and a bigger IDE or SATA drive for storage (Seagate has good drives, also WesternDigital), or you can get two SATA drives and RAID0 them (for faster read/write speed).