PDA

View Full Version : Houdini comparing to Maya

saguaro
10-01-2004, 07:54 AM
I almost continue the previous question posted by Shinova. Actually I use Maya for my work, mainly for modelling, texturing, rendering purposes and I'm not an animator. What advantages can offer me Houdini over Maya (if any)? I should notice that I am not a programmer but an artist. Though writing scripts is not a problem for me, I appreciate clear workflow when I can put most of my efforts on artistic aspect of the work, not technical.

Thank you.

PS I beg pardon for my possibly bad English.

westiemad
10-01-2004, 10:13 PM
i have used houdini apprentice, and I wasn't hugely keen on it, i'd say stick with maya, but then again you might as well download the free version and have a play with it, a lot of software is personal preferance.

AnDy

Shinova
10-02-2004, 12:24 AM
The short time I've had with Houdini taught me a thing or two:

- Proceduralism is hella powerful. Especially when your preplanning work for the scene at hand didn't go too well and you have to change something mid-fly. Houdini's object-based structure makes that easy.

- That said, this proceduralism aspect also detaches you from the scene. You feel more like you're designing a program rather than structuring a piece of art. You feel disconnected from the scene, essentially. Very artistic types will not like Houdini, from what I can tell.

So Houdini can make things get more "technical" rather than "artistic".

The proceduralism is great, especially when needs and plans change mid-way through a project. But then again, as it is now, you definetly feel more like you're programming rather than making art.

jiversen
10-02-2004, 12:41 AM
Well said about the personal preference bit..