PDA

View Full Version : Viewing and modify 2 independant meshes

sonicstrawbery
09-30-2004, 11:28 AM
I'm new to modo too, my question is simple, how can we view 2 independant meshes at the same time and be able to modify them ?

the point is : i have a head and an eye and i want to position the eye in the right place of the socket...

please help me

Cipher

Sbowling
09-30-2004, 11:33 AM
Put the object you want to modify in the foreground layer and the object you want to use as reference in the background layer. It's that simple.

Edit: you can also create a selction set for each mesh and use that to move them around in the same layer if you want.

brap
09-30-2004, 02:41 PM
I'm really liking the select by Material mode. It would be great to be able to select by Part, or Connected as well (as opposed to hitting a poly and then select Connected), unless it's already there and I just haven't found it yet.

leuey
09-30-2004, 04:07 PM
You can do both. Click on the '+' by the part name in the stats dialog. You can also select by connect by double-clicking on the object. Or a pattern (click every other edge in a loop a couple times then press the up arrow to continue selecting in that pattern). Use the stats dialog a lot, you can select by part name, material name, # of vertices, polys or subpatches, curves, number of polys a vert is connected to, every catagory that's in there can be selected or deselected (like non-planar polys..)

best,

Greg

I'm really liking the select by Material mode. It would be great to be able to select by Part, or Connected as well (as opposed to hitting a poly and then select Connected), unless it's already there and I just haven't found it yet.

brap
09-30-2004, 04:21 PM