PDA

View Full Version : Moving from Modeler to Modo...

TrexGreg
09-28-2004, 08:23 PM
Hello...
I'm a veteran Lightwave user and would like to ask a few things about Modo, which i'm gona get anyway, cause it looks sooooo cool. So, here are some questions:

1. In Modeler i can "group" points and polygons using Surface names, Part names and Sketch Colors for polygons and Point sets for points. Can i do that in Modo?

2. In Modeler, when i have multiple distinguish objects loaded, i can set any one of them as a background object, without moving any object inside the layer stack of another. Does Modo work the same way?

3. Can Modo display multiple textures with alpha channels, one on top of the other?

4. In Lightwave threr's no way i can edit and re-program the mouse buttons and wheel. Can we do this in Modo?

5. Is there a slider for real time blending bettwen various morph targets, like the one we have in Modeler? (through a third party plugin, though). Or any other way for blending different morphs to create new ones, with real time feedback, perferably...

6. In Modo can i paint weight maps using the mouse as a brush? Or can i convert textures (images or LW procudurals) to weight maps?

Well... That's all for now...
Thanks in advance...

Best regards,

Dion Burgoyne
09-28-2004, 08:43 PM
1. In Modeler i can "group" points and polygons using Surface names, Part names and Sketch Colors for polygons and Point sets for points. Can i do that in Modo?Yes, you can also group sets of layers and parent them together

2. In Modeler, when i have multiple distinguish objects loaded, i can set any one of them as a background object, without moving any object inside the layer stack of another. Does Modo work the same way?Yes, very similar, you can also view the background layers the same as the foreground layer, so that you're not just limited to wireframes. You can also put entire other objects into the background layer as well.