PDA

View Full Version : Painter8 sidegrade or pay double for full Painter9?

Erik Heyninck
09-28-2004, 03:27 PM
This is not the kind of thread I like but still...
I do am really serious, so it's not an attempt to start an argument.

Being a painter myself (renaissance techniques), I am interested in this software.

So I downloaded the newest demo, and, to be honest, I was quite impressed.
Question is: is there much difference between Painter8 and 9? I'm not talking bells and whistles here (I did read the other thread), but interface etc...

I have a fast pc (PIV3GHzHT, 1.5GBRam, Win XPPro) and I own Photoshop.
As I live in Europe, I have to pay more than the people from the US and Canada, so the sidegrade to 8 looks very interesting as the full price for Painter9 is about the double.
Is this upgrade worth spending twice the money I'd have to spend to get Painter8?

And, generally speaking: how is Painter8? Known bugs? I was interested in 7 once, but the negative impressions of many of its users made me forget about Painter altogether.

Thanks for your replies.

rebo
09-28-2004, 04:42 PM
Personally i would go with painter 9, 8 on my computer is really laggy with some brushes. The watercolors and oils in 9 are really nice and fast.

Erik Heyninck
09-28-2004, 05:39 PM
Corel nl has 8 sidegrade for 161 Euro. No mention of 9 yet.

Corel UK:

upgradeP8 is 169 Euro.
Painter9 comes at 398.33Euro
P9 upgrade: 149 Euro

A local shop here asks:

for P8 upgrade: 239 Euro
for P9 (appr. preorder): 389 Euro.
for P9 upgrade: 155 Euro.

So if I'd want 9, I'd be best to buy the upgrade/sidegrade as a Photoshop user to 8 in Holland (161 Euro) and then, at the moment, the upgrade to 9 in Great Britain (149 Euro).
Saves me 79 Euro...and I can test out 8 myself.

kraal
09-28-2004, 05:49 PM