PDA

View Full Version : change modeler's wireframe to black permanently


southparx
09-28-2004, 06:45 AM
howdy guys, i notice black color wireframe is "in" so i just found this out and i thought i wanna share it with you:

-go to C:\Document and Settings\'user name'\ folder
-search for LWM8.cfg and open it with Notepad
-locate the line that says DefaultSketchColor... the value 1 there is for the default dark blue,
to change it to black replace value 1 with 0 -->zero
-save the change, close the cfg file, also close modeler and hub if they're running
-once you reopen modeler, it should be black by now

you can try entering values between 0 to 12 to see what other colors are available.
i hope you like it and sorry if this is posted before

E_Moelzer
09-28-2004, 10:43 AM
Well, you could also go into the display- options (Layout Tab) and set the default sketch color there.
;)
Oh and dont forget, that you can set the sketch color on a per polygon basis. You can then use the statistics to select polygons by color. Can be handy sometimes when you need to orient yourself in a complex mesh...
CU
Elmar

southparx
09-28-2004, 04:32 PM
oops i didn't notice it was in the display options...silly me http://cgtalk.com/images/smilies/shrug.gif

thanks for adding that Elmar

Serif
09-28-2004, 07:19 PM
I have a rather interesting problem that pertains to sketch color. I started a model back in February using LW 7.5c. Since then, I have upgraded LW a couple of times and now I am on LW 8.1.

I just started work again on this model (Mc Laren F1) and my wireframe colors are all whacked. Half of the model has the old gray color while some of the new model has the new default blue color. I tried to change it all to black using the display options and now it's black-blue-gray. :eek:

So... as the topic suggests... is there any way to change ALL of the wireframe color to black?

southparx
09-28-2004, 08:27 PM
hi, Serif, give this a try

have all of your objects' layers active, go to 'Detail' tab, under Polygons menu you should see
Sketch Color tool (it's exactly one button below Align).

you can then use that tool to apply the color black for example for all the objects that are in the active layers

http://cgtalk.com/images/smilies/smile.gif

Serif
09-28-2004, 11:41 PM
that worked perfectly... thank you very much. :)

southparx
09-29-2004, 10:05 AM
glad i could help http://cgtalk.com/images/smilies/smile.gif

CGTalk Moderation
01-19-2006, 09:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.