PDA

View Full Version : The zbrush and maya game compendium

Kael
09-28-2004, 06:27 AM
Hello everyone,
I am an animator working to stablish a game studio. For this reason I've been struggling with things like modeling and texturing which I don't completely understand as much as animation.
I was attracted to zbrush because of its fast and relatively easy interface. I normally work with Maya as my main 3d tool... as I assume most of you reading this thread do as well.

I wanted to make a single thread to compile some info on how to use zbrush on the specific maya situation.

The questions:
Im working with Unreal 2004 engine... Does it work if I model low poly in maya (only because the model is already made otherwise I would try zbrush for this as well) and then move it to zbrush for texturing using Projection Master... WHAT EXACTLY DO I NEED TO EXPORT BACK TO MAYA? and is it good or bad idea to use this kind of projection for game engines like unreal?Taking into account that this time i dont want to render it just animate it to export into Unreal.

Frenchy Pilou
09-28-2004, 06:52 AM
...at this post (http://206.145.80.239/zbc/showthread.php?t=003548) (slide the page)
And see the concept and how Zb can help you for have crazzy definite textures on a lowpoly object :cool:

Kael
09-28-2004, 03:35 PM
Thanx frenchy pilou,
I don't quite understand the concept behind that post. And... do you know if this works on unreal 2004 engine?

Sorry to bother so much, I just want to know what I'm gettin into before I venture. What I do promise is that I'll post a full thread/tutorial on this matter using zbrush, maya and unreal when I finish. I think many ppl are concerned about this but there is no place to actually look for solid hard evidence of it working.

eldee
09-28-2004, 10:41 PM
Thanx frenchy pilou,
I don't quite understand the concept behind that post. And... do you know if this works on unreal 2004 engine?