PDA

View Full Version : 2 Problems i have in Painter

rebo
09-25-2004, 03:00 AM
Hi, i wonder if the experts here can help me with my current two weakest points. Im kinda new to painting and drawing with a wacom and dont have a great amount of experience with real oil or acrylic painting. Ive only tended to do real pencil drawings and ink/marker drawings.

So i have two issues with the digital creation process at the moment, the first is getting nice clean lines. Much of what i draw with a wacom tends to be very scetchy, even after tidying up the lines i get a very sketchy outcome. I would like to be able to draw nice clean lines such as in the third picture on this link.

http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?t=171970

My other problem is with going from mid detail to fine detail. Or more specifically blending from mid to fine blend. So that surfaces have that realistic look as opposed to a impression/paintery look. Here is an example i saw where someone can blend really well and get a great finish. (see picture 2 to 3)

http://www.3dm-mc.com/tutorials/painter/nude/index3.php

When i try to blend like this my final result still looks really painterly ( which isnt always bad). Does one just use smaller and smaller brushes, or is there other tricks that can help.

I think maybe when i attempt these two tasks i am trying to rush things, however some tips /suggestions on these issues can really help me thanks.

Lunatique
09-25-2004, 03:51 AM
Remember, you are looking at severely resized versions of other people's work. In their native resolution, you'd see all the gritty stuff.

I tend to paint very clean--too clean and too sterile. It's my handicap, but if you are after that look, you might want to take a look at my tutorials at my site.

mcarp
09-25-2004, 06:25 PM