PDA

View Full Version : Clicking scn files, XSI does not open them


Shinova
09-24-2004, 08:40 AM
Double clicking scn files are supposed to automatically load XSI and open the scene, but for some reason it's not doing that on my computer. Any ideas why that might be happening?

Shinova
09-24-2004, 09:04 AM
Nevermind, I just answered my own question. :)



For future people who run into the same problem as I did (if you're on a 2000/XP machine like mines; Linux people might not have this problem) where you double-click on a scn file and nothing happens or XSI loads but doesn't open the scene:


1) XSI doesn't like spaces in directory names (and probably file names also)

2) The scn file in question must be inside a project directory



I actually had my project directory in the My Documents folder, the full path of which contains multiple spaces. I set up a temporary project inside the Softimage directory, created a basic scene, and voila! XSI loads the scene correctly when I double-click the scn file!


I should probably move all my stuff somewhere in the base directory, probably in the Softimage directory as a result. :)

CGTalk Moderation
01-19-2006, 08:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.