PDA

View Full Version : Modo on mac


pensart
09-23-2004, 10:43 AM
Hi there,

I'm thinking about upgrading to a G5.
Are there any users who have some experience with modo on a G5?
Please specify wich gfx card, system u use and if there are opengl problems or not.

All regards,
Pensart

Chaz
09-23-2004, 01:48 PM
It's very, very fast on the G5 (2Ghz here). The only complaint I could make is that I've been getting a lot of annoying OpenGL artifacts with the Radeon 9600 card and can't seem to get rid of them.

lluistar
09-23-2004, 02:50 PM
Yep, artifacts here too with a Radeon 9600 in a Dual G5 2Mhz


Salut,
Lluis

pensart
09-23-2004, 09:09 PM
thanks for the honest reply's !!
Mabe better to go for the gforce chips then.

harlan_hill
09-23-2004, 10:28 PM
Dual G5 2Mhz

lol...slowest computer ever (in the voice of Comic Bookstore Guy).

seasterling
09-23-2004, 11:19 PM
What version of OSX are you running? I am getting the artifacts on my G5 and my Powerbook. Both have ATI cards. However, I also started getting the artifacts in Maya as well, which I didn't have before. I think Apple bugged this one up with the 10.3.5 update or maybe with one of the other recent patches. I vaguely remember one of them mentioning changes to OpenGL, not sure about the ATI drivers. Anyone?

Griffon
09-24-2004, 12:14 AM
Apple should be fixing this, it has been reported. The same bug appears in both modo and Maya.

pensart
10-01-2004, 04:51 PM
Could someone be a little more specific about the glitches?
What kind of glitches do u experience?

The thing is i would like to get a card with a minimum of 128
The standard only has 64 so this one is not good.
The second and third are ati cards
The fourth is the geforce ultra "2 DVI outputs" and it happens to have a formac 20.1" ADC version monitor :banghead:

Maybe i will buy a ati version afterall if the glitches are not that bad ofcourse.

lluistar
10-01-2004, 06:06 PM
Check this post (http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?t=173405) to see an image.

Currently installing the new driver for the upcoming GeForce6800 (the ATI card to fuel the 30" display) fix the problem as it corrects the open GL bug. The only issue is that the driver hasn't been released officially. But there is a link to it in hardmac.com (http://www.hardmac.com/niouzcontenu.php?date=2004-09-26#2926)

-------
Salut,
Lluis

pensart
10-01-2004, 06:51 PM
Hey lluistar, Thanks for the mega tip!
Please let me know if the fix works.
About the performance, how would u rate it against the standard and ultra Geforce cards?

lluistar
10-02-2004, 12:53 AM
My card is the 9600 pro with 64MB.

I haven't test any other card, so no idea here.

The fix worked fine. Haven''t noticed any speed increase but the glitches have disapeared. and overall Modo seems more stable.


-------
Salut,
Lluis

CGTalk Moderation
01-19-2006, 08:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.