PDA

View Full Version : Planning on jumping in. Eight, or Nine?

Alan Daniels
09-22-2004, 10:21 PM
Hello there wonderful Painter users:

I've been thinking about getting Painter for a while, but now that v9 is coming around, I'm wondering if my window of opportunity is closing. :D Basically, the prices I've seen are about $250 for v8, and $430 for v9. Well, $250 I can swing, but $430 is too rich for my blood. So my question is, should I jump in *now* and get v8? Is it still worth buying? If you've used both, would you say that v8 is enough to do everything you'd reasonably want to do with Painter?

Some background: I've seen lots about v9's speed enhancements, but I already have a pretty fast machine, so that shouldn't be an issue. I'm still a learning artist, and I'll be doing general-purpose painting, not technical illustrations or anything like that.

In advance, thanks for your help.

Per-Anders
09-22-2004, 10:39 PM
painter 8 is perfectly respectable and you can do everything with it (painter 9's only been out a day or something so it's not like anyone's found much that you can't do in 8 yet). so if it's a choice between getting 8 or getting nothing, then i'd say get 8. you can always upgrde at a later date.

rebo
09-22-2004, 11:10 PM
but I already have a pretty fast machine, so that shouldn't be an issue
Ive also got a fast machine and 8 runs like a dog with some brushes. Save up for 9 imo much faster.

Cometsoft
09-22-2004, 11:53 PM
Go for 9. Download the demo and you'll be good for the next 30 days. The retail 9 is supposed to be released on Oct. 20. The only caveat is they are usually pretty generous with their competitive upgrades. Like if you owned Photoshop you could get Painter for a discount. I think they tend to be more generous after a version has been out for a while. Don't know if they're offering any thing like that for 9 yet.

As for the speed, I've got a dual Opteron 248 and on 8 there is still some laggardly brush tracking.

Jinbrown