PDA

View Full Version : quick workflow questions:

spacemunky
09-22-2004, 03:46 PM
I am new to modo coming from Maya, I have a few simple questions i'm hoping someone with maybe some beta testing experience could address for me

1. Is there anyway to bring up the manipulator immediatly after an extrude to begin the extrude without clicking somewhere on the screen
2. Is there a magnet snapping similar to Maya's "make live" option for snapping points to a mesh
3. Is there a way to turn off back face selection when making selections in subobject modes
4. Is there a raycast selection tool similar to XSI (paint selection)
6. Is there anyway to to use the slice tool to draw points in the middle of a face and then connect them later by hand
7. Why does modo not switch modes for tools...example...if i select a face and hit bevel, or even hold shift and bevel...it just gives me some kind of weird face offset..when i really want a tradition edfeg bevel. (this is probably a dumb question but it still seems weird if even maya can do it)

Thanks in advance for the help

Dion Burgoyne
09-22-2004, 04:19 PM
1. Is there anyway to bring up the manipulator immediatly after an extrude to begin the extrude without clicking somewhere on the screen Yes, if you right click on the extrude tool inside of the "tool pipe" you can set it to auto-activate

2. Is there a magnet snapping similar to Maya's "make live" option for snapping points to a mesh There is "snap to element" which will snap it to verts if you'd like, however I've not used that function in maya so I'm not sure how similar it is

3. Is there a way to turn off back face selection when making selections in subobject modes
If you are working in the default mouse config, middle mouse button will lasso select through, right mouse will lasso ray cast style

4. Is there a raycast selection tool similar to XSI (paint selection) See #3