PDA

View Full Version : Pb with keyboard AZERTY


Wireframes
09-21-2004, 08:20 PM
why I can't access to the key minus "-" to use "Hide Selected" shortcuts ?

Minus "-" and "6" is the same key

with the CAPS LOCK On : I hit the "6" key it's ok I have "6"
with the CAPS LOCK Off : I must have "-" and I still have "6" ?

I have not this pb with the modeler of LW and I have not this Pb when I use the menu of MODO

Solutions ?

Dion Burgoyne
09-21-2004, 08:33 PM
I'm not sure I understand your problem, but every key on the keyboard is is mapable. including shift-ctrl-alt or any combination of the three... If you're having a specific problem, you may want to send an e-mail to cs@luxology.com

Wireframes
09-21-2004, 08:42 PM
I know this but I have the same pb when I want to remap this command in the Key Editor.

If I hit "-" (minus key) I have a "6" on the commands of the key Editor.

I have tried "-" in the command line near Command History and it works very well (the minus key "-" appears in the command line)

Phil

jangell
09-21-2004, 08:49 PM
If I hit "-" (minus key) I have a "6" on the commands of the key Editor.

Windows or Mac?

What keymap/language is your OS set to?

-- Joe

Wireframes
09-21-2004, 09:00 PM
I use Windows XP Pro / SP2

French keyboard langage http://www.cgtalk.com/images/icons/icon10.gif

The pb is like the keyboard is locked in CAPITAL Mode .... and if I open an other programme like Notepad or other I haven't this PB

Phil

Dion Burgoyne
09-21-2004, 09:30 PM
Ahh... now I understand the AZERTY line... yes, we had this problem when we were demoing at the Paris Expo... It's a localization issue, modo supports the U.S. keyboard layout only at this time.

Wireframes
09-21-2004, 09:33 PM
Arf

I remember this now but it was not the final version (I was at the Apple Expo 2004 too http://www.cgtalk.com/images/icons/icon10.gif )

What can you do for us then ?

because I don't want to change this key

jangell
09-21-2004, 09:41 PM
I use Windows XP Pro / SP2

French keyboard langage http://www.cgtalk.com/images/icons/icon10.gif

The pb is like the keyboard is locked in CAPITAL Mode .... and if I open an other programme like Notepad or other I haven't this PB

OK, I took a look at a french keymap here:

http://www.goucher.edu/library/decker/helpfiles/frkeyboardmap.htm

As best I can tell, the '-' key is shift-6 on your keyboard, correct?

There is a known mapping issue in modo with non-English keyboards that we are working to resolve. For example, I'll expect that your A/Q and W/Z keys are swapped as well. You don't see this behavior in the edit fields because those are handled at the OS level; we interpret the keyboard equivalents differently and that is what is causing the problems. In effect, it is looking at the physical location of the keys as if they were US English, not the actual names of the keys.

I think that on your keyboard the degree key in between the '0' and '=' top-row keys will get you the '-' key. Sorry for the confusion. As I said, we're on it.

-- Joe

Wireframes
09-22-2004, 04:55 AM
OK, I took a look at a french keymap here:
http://www.goucher.edu/library/deck...keyboardmap.htm (http://www.goucher.edu/library/deck...keyboardmap.htm)
As best I can tell, the '-' key is shift-6 on your keyboard, correct?

Yes it is exactly that keyboard http://www.cgtalk.com/images/icons/icon7.gif

I hope you will resolve this point on the next minor upgrade http://www.cgtalk.com/images/icons/icon12.gif
thanx
Phil

Para
09-22-2004, 05:29 AM
Ahh... now I understand the AZERTY line... yes, we had this problem when we were demoing at the Paris Expo... It's a localization issue, modo supports the U.S. keyboard layout only at this time.

IMO this is one of the things that should be fixed not just for modo but every software out there. For example with LWM the key ] is used to select all connected polies and { and } to expand/make selection smaller. I don't know what this keyboard layout is called (the one I use), possibly something like qwerty-fi but all those are special marks that come from a combination of AltGr + 7, 9 and 0. In LW this also selects wrong layers which isn't that bad but the problem is that these keyboard shortcuts activates wrong tools while doing the requested operation which can turn a pleasant modeling session into complete horror.

CGTalk Moderation
01-19-2006, 07:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.