PDA

View Full Version : Head:Alien

Strategoi
09-19-2004, 03:08 AM
Ok I'll just start off by saying that I am a newbie in the 3d art world exspecially in texturing, but I figured since my posts at Elysiun.com didn't really get me anywhere I'd come here and get beat down with a very big stick. Been using Blender3d for about a year or so maybe less.

my picture is off an unknown Alien from some distant unknown planet. No refrences used.

Software:Blender3d
Time:one hell of alot

Please crit on my modeling and since I'm kinda in a creative block right now if you suddenly come up with an idea for what type of body for him, I would really like to know...

Front View: Clay
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v415/Strategoi/AlienHeadClay1.jpg

Side View: Clay
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v415/Strategoi/AlienHeadClay2.jpg

Perspective View: Clay
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v415/Strategoi/AlienHeadClay3.jpg

And heres some links to my pathetic attempts at procedurcal(sp?) texturing and a wireframe.

Wireframe:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v415/Strategoi/AlienHeadWireFrame1.jpg
Texture FrontView:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v415/Strategoi/AlienHeadTexture2.jpg
Texture SideView:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v415/Strategoi/AlienHeadTexture1.jpg

Help me learn!!
later

davhub
09-19-2004, 09:08 PM
Hi Strategoi.. first of all: i do not know how blender works, so excuse me if
I say something could be strange for your workflow..
second, I give you my advice knowing they could be harsh, let me know I do not have
the intention to hurt.

It's a very complex face, too complex in my opinion.
I'm not founded in Char anim, but I could say
your char needs to be simplified.

You're not founded in texturing and UV maps and, believe, me, your model will
open for you the gates of hell if you try to UV map it and texture... :)
(unless you use a solid 3D paint program or a normalizer of UVmaps)