PDA

View Full Version : texturing enviroment


LordIron2k
08-09-2002, 05:30 PM
Hi guys

What´s the best way to make a good surface/texture for a enviroment?

regards,

stephan G

leigh
08-12-2002, 08:32 AM
What kind of environment?

LordIron2k
08-13-2002, 08:41 PM
just an island or something else

derwolpertinger
08-13-2002, 10:04 PM
i don't know what package you are workin' with but i'd suggest to use procedurals for landscapes that are really huge and impractical to paint. or maybe you can combine painting and using procedurals.

leigh
08-16-2002, 12:53 PM
I agree that procedurals are the best way to go for landscapes.
You can then make images to use an alpha channels, so that you can define the areas for sand, grass and so on - it works like a charm ;)
Just stack up the layers in the surface editor of procedurals for each area - eg. make a sand texture with a couple of procs, then stick an image using alpha blending on top of that, to block out the areas where you want it to be grass, and start placing your procs for grass on top of that and so on and so forth :)

CGTalk Moderation
01-13-2006, 02:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.