PDA

View Full Version : Aura


Cryptite
09-14-2004, 10:21 PM
Well I figured since we have a Particle Flow discussion and a Mental Ray thread discussion, I might as well try an start up an Aura Discussion Thread.

So to start out, i'll put up a couple of links that i'll try to add to once we all start pitching in our R&D and test shots.

Aura Home Page & Examples (http://www.chaosgroup.com/AURA/)

Aura Public Test Build (Aura Itself) (http://www.spot3d.com/AURA/publicbeta/chaosAura_0.63.02.msi)
Latest Build: 0.63.02 | Released : Feb 16, 2005

Hope we'll be able to get this thread kickin' with our contributions!
:D

jlelievre
09-15-2004, 12:01 AM
Smokin idea!

Here is my first test using this sweet, sweet gift from the people at Chaos. Uses a simple wind and vortex.

Smoke Test 01 (http://www.intrinsia.net/work/smoke.avi)

I cannot wait to get some free time and mess around with this stuff some more! :)

treed
09-15-2004, 12:14 AM
Posted these in the AURA forums already and pflow thread but I'll just do it in here since this is the official thread.

Heres just some basic smoke+fire.

http://www.3dluvr.com/treed/my%20stuff/images_animations/AURA_fire.mov
http://www.3dluvr.com/treed/my%20stuff/images_animations/AURA_fire1.mov


And then, the candle I'm currently working on.

http://www.3dluvr.com/treed/my%20stuff/images_animations/AURA_candle.mov
http://www.3dluvr.com/treed/my%20stuff/images_animations/AURA_candle1.mov
http://www.3dluvr.com/treed/my%20stuff/images_animations/AURA_candle2.mov


Just have a little color adjustment on the candle and then I think it's perfect. I have to make it transparent near the bottom because that's how a real flame is. :)

JeffPatton
09-15-2004, 01:24 AM
Ok, let me post these again..lol...(I'm sure people are sick of seeing them by now)

Here's my latest test:
I used a skull model as an emitter, then just hid it from the camera. I had to use a very small cell & high number of cells to get the details though...over 3 million cells so that's why the animation test is a bit short! :D

Here's a screen grab:
http://www.jeffpatton.net/CG-post/Aura-skull.jpg

And the very short (12 frame video):
http://www.jeffpatton.net/CG-post/Aura-skull.avi

and here's an older test:
http://www.jeffpatton.net/CG-post/Aura-jet-thb.jpg

And here's the video (I know the jet is moving too slow...I'll fix that next round):
Download video (http://www.jeffpatton.net/CG-post/Aura-jet.avi)

JP

Daniel-B
09-15-2004, 03:42 AM
I tried to create a nuclear explosion with AURA. But I couldn't get the scale big enough. I was able to do it with Maya Fluids, so I assume AURA should be able to do something similar?

So, who wants to give a nuclear explosion a shot?

Cryptite
09-15-2004, 03:54 AM
Its pretty easy. Get Loran in here, he's posted his nuclear test explosions in the chaos forums... I'm having a hard time with aura so far; the settings are very precise, and being off .1 units can totally change your simulation... :sad:

ArtiZta
09-15-2004, 08:10 AM
Great job Jeff, the skull is great...
I've got aura install for few days now but still haven't got spare time to explore it..
tell us, how long did it take to simulate & render the smoke skull?
:thumbsup:

cheers

JeffPatton
09-15-2004, 08:23 AM
The simulation calc was taking about 3-5 minutes per frame (I think) when I stopped it. The render didn't take too long at all, around 5-10 mintues total for those 12 frames (used a VRay area light)

JP

fabriciomicheli
09-15-2004, 04:00 PM
I like this thread!

A question to all: has this beta public test a lot of features or it has just a couple of basics things??? (haven't tried it yet)
Because i need a plugin for volumetric effects for a little short im doing...

:thumbsup:

Waple
09-16-2004, 08:45 PM
How are you guys getting this to work? I downloaded the .msi file, but when I try to run the script in Max, it's not found (.msi isn't an extension that's listed). So I tried renaming it to a .ms, .mcr and .mse since they are listed in the drop down, and I get a Maxscript Filein Exception error.

Then I tried creating a custom toolbar, but couldn't find aura anywhere in the list of commands to add.

JeffPatton
09-16-2004, 08:49 PM
Just double click the .msi file in windows explorer.

Waple
09-16-2004, 09:00 PM
Ah, thanks. I didn't realize (untill you said that) the .msi stood, apparently, for MicroSoft Installer. I was thinking this was a script, not a plugin, and since the MaxScript files are .ms files, I assumed the .msi stood for MaxScript I____.

<-- noob.

Thanks again



Um, does it not work in Max 6? I'm getting the error at load saying this plugin doesn't work with this version.

Cryptite
09-16-2004, 10:00 PM
I got that error too, at first. You have to launch that .msi file again and reinstall it. This time, however, turn off installing plugins for max 5. If you have max 5 and you want to install it for that too (for whatever reason) you'd have to find the max 5 root folder and turn off installing the max 6 plugins.

treed
09-18-2004, 03:11 AM
Alright, heres my new candle flame. I think it's a lot better than the rest but have no idea why the light isn't flickering in the render, it does in the viewport though.

http://www.3dluvr.com/treed/my%20stuff/images_animations/AURA_candle4.mov

ArtiZta
09-24-2004, 07:36 PM
Someone posted a nuke test.. can anyone help me find it?..
I want to try to make the nuke effect.. how good can aura beta do it?...
can anyone help pls

cheers
:)

Cryptite
09-24-2004, 08:43 PM
S.W. posted a nice version of his nuke/mushroom cloud over on the chaos forum. You can find that thread here (http://www.chaoticdimension.com/forums/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=8316).

Sorry guys. I'd have lots of tests to post but i've gotten the dreaded menuman.cpp error for max 6 and I can't fix it. I guess i'm going to have to reinstall it :(

treed
09-24-2004, 10:57 PM
Ok, sorry for the delay, but heres what I think looks quite a bit better in terms of the movement. But can anyone tell me how I can add the little blue part near the bottom? For some reason the curves aren't allowing me to do that and make it transparent at the bottom.

http://www.3dluvr.com/treed/my%20stuff/images_animations/AURA_candle6.mov

Boa
09-25-2004, 08:57 AM
Hi Treed,
I've posted an bcurve on the chaos board. http://www.chaoticdimension.com/forums/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=65198#65198

I don't know whether this will work for you. I've used it for my "ring of fire" test and it came out quite nice.

ArtiZta
09-26-2004, 09:42 AM
Why my aura doesn't seem to have those cool self shadows eventhough it's on?
do i need vray to render it or it should work in standard scanline renderer??

Boa
09-26-2004, 11:58 AM
Works with scanline too. You have to turn on the shadows of your light plus turn on "Atmosphere Shadows" in the shadow parameters. That should do the trick :)

ArtiZta
09-27-2004, 12:25 PM
Thanks Boa it's working great now :)

cheers

ArtiZta
09-30-2004, 07:16 AM
...hmmm this great aura does get heavy on a machine when it's simulating and rendering some heavier stuff.

b1m2x3
10-02-2004, 06:31 PM
fooled around with aura for about an hour.... havnt messed with it since i have no time as of late

this is what i came up with.. a simple stove burner. but i cant figure out how to get the colors to NOT radiate outward. there is that orange barrier around the flame so it doesnt look right.

anyways:

http://www.swg3d.com/3d/burner.avi

ArtiZta
10-04-2004, 08:57 AM
Ok, I know everyone has already tried and made this mushroom thing.. but I just need some comments, this is my 1st mushroom test.. where I wanted to make a explosion mushroom but more soft smoke.. not as thick as the nuclear one.

http://www.indorc.com/artizta/incoming/test_03.avi (http://www.indorc.com/artizta/incoming/test_03.avi)

psxchelly
10-07-2004, 09:20 PM
hi. I would like to know if there are any informational sites or files i can get so i can start learning how to use this tool.

thanks
michelle

hyenen
10-08-2004, 07:40 PM
hi. I would like to know if there are any informational sites or files i can get so i can start learning how to use this tool.

thanks
michelle
as i remember there is a help file incluted whit the program..... if you dont have the program you can download it here:

http://www.chaosgroup.com/software/AURA/

ArtiZta
10-09-2004, 10:43 AM
This Beta is going to expire soon... I haven't got much time to try it out to the max.. does anyone know if there will be any other betas after 15 of Oct before the final release?

jabbermacy
11-26-2004, 01:45 PM
Do you need a reg code to check out the beta?

hyenen
11-26-2004, 03:16 PM
Do you need a reg code to check out the beta?
yes read the readmefile that coms whit the program. it will explaine how

3d-catastrophe
11-27-2004, 12:53 AM
Apparently Aura isn't compatible with Mental Ray... or at least not easily. Has anyone found a way to get MR to accept Aura?

BAD-B-BILLY
12-08-2004, 04:28 PM
chaosAURA public beta
Latest build: 0.61.01
Released: 03 Dec 2004

Download Build Here= http://www.spot3d.com/AURA/publicbeta/chaosAura_0.61.01.msi

HomePage = http://www.chaosgroup.com/AURA/

Cryptite
12-09-2004, 12:46 PM
Thank you Billy, the initial post has been updated properly.

Mariano
12-23-2004, 02:27 PM
Hi , i also need to know , anyone knows if aura is compatible with MR in max6?
thanks!

Mariano

BrianHarbauer
01-02-2005, 05:26 AM
Hey mariano, i'm waiting for my authorization code to come back and then i can try some tests. Anybody know how long these builds will be coming? or when the product will be ready?

BrianHarbauer
01-04-2005, 02:55 AM
Hey, i checked to see if it works with MR... Very unfortunatly no. We could put a bug in their ear but i wonder if they would really add support for MR as they have their own renderer they have to sell... Darn! Oh well, i'm optimistic.:scream:

-Brian H.

rainrambler
01-09-2005, 10:56 PM
Mental Ray support will be added soon, probably the next build. And the next build will come around the beginning of February :)
check out these topics in the Chaos forums:
http://www.chaoticdimension.com/forums/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=8169
http://www.chaoticdimension.com/forums/phpBB2/viewforum.php?f=15

vislaw
02-03-2005, 05:03 AM
I was most impressed with the Aura examples I ran across and I see that the public beta is available for download as an installer file. However, I can find no HELP file and no docs anywhere. Is there a tutorial available anywhere? Can anyone point me in the right direction? I am embarassed to say that I can't find the installed plug anywhere. Thanks.

Cryptite
02-03-2005, 05:28 AM
The installer installs both the plugin and the help files. Check Help -> Additional help and it should be there.

vislaw
02-03-2005, 11:12 AM
Thanks. I confirmed that the help file is indeed there although for some reason it isn't showing up from inside Max 6. I'll try re-installing.

By the way, when I originally tried to install into Max 7 I got a dialog that said the plug-in wasn't installable. I recall hearing that Max 7 was designed to run ALL plugs that work in 6. Is it possible to use Aura with 7?

I'm really impressed with the examples I've seen and I'm grateful to Chaos for making this public beta available.

Mark

Helioss
02-04-2005, 08:02 PM
When Does The New Beta Version Come Out For Testing?? Does Anyone Know?

z8er
02-17-2005, 07:54 PM
im also wondering if anyone knows when the new beta version might be released.thanks

:D

Rens
02-20-2005, 04:59 PM
New build. (http://www.chaosgroup.com/aura/) :D

Wahooney
03-01-2005, 11:08 AM
When are we getting a March build? :cry:

mr.effect
03-15-2005, 10:42 PM
hi everyone,

since build 0.61.01 there was a major bug with all turbolence values. chaosgroup fixed that now in the new build 0.63.02 (http://www.chaosgroup.com/aura/)!

i tested aura for some time now and i will use it for my diploma film. it's definitly a great and powerful fluid dynamics plugin for 3dsmax, even if its considered to simulate fire & smoke!

some tests i've made: http://romanschmidt.com/aura

C&C are welcome ;)

Ian Jones
04-04-2005, 09:31 AM
Anyone know what the copyright status of this public beta is? am I allowed to use imagery created with Aura in a commercial production? I can't see any info at the chaos website.

EDIT: Silly me, of course they would put the info in the installer file! :)

mr.effect
04-04-2005, 06:17 PM
hi Ian,

here's what one of the developers form Chaosgroup says in the Aura Forum:

Quote: " Aura public beta can be used for any purposes - including commercial use. You should keep in mind tough that this is beta software with no support and we may discontinue the public beta at any time without notice. So you should be very careful if you use it commercially because you may stumble upon bugs, crashes, irregular updates or discontinuation of the public beta." (Evtim)

Post-Url: http://www.chaoticdimension.com/forums/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=10557&highlight=commercial

So, yes you can use it. :)

ArtiZta
04-23-2005, 05:14 PM
So, are there any more news about AURA releases yet?
it's over 15th of April, not working anymore?
hope it's not discontinued, would be nice if it's integrated into MAX though ;)

Cryptite
04-23-2005, 10:12 PM
Got that right.

Neejoh
06-01-2005, 09:44 PM
They are back!

Just got a mail a couple of days ago with the subject: "Closed AURA beta test programme invitation". I just signed and faxed my Non-Disclosure Agreement that comes along with it. Don't have any information yet about the program itself or what will happen now... We'll see I guess

CGRoman
06-01-2005, 09:50 PM
u must be patient on this one... ;) but they assured me that the aura project will be continued. this plugin has so much potential!

Neejoh
06-02-2005, 02:31 PM
u must be patient on this one... ;) but they assured me that the aura project will be continued. this plugin has so much potential!
Cool to see you on CGTalk! I've seen some serious stuff what you did with Aura. I really like that campfire you made.

wybl
06-25-2005, 11:57 AM
is there a way how i can get this plugin? the download seems te be unavailable on the chaosgroup-site... :sad:

After seeing some amazing animations i really want to try it out.

Neejoh
06-25-2005, 05:54 PM
is there a way how i can get this plugin? the download seems te be unavailable on the chaosgroup-site... :sad:

After seeing some amazing animations i really want to try it out.
It's not a public beta anymore... You can try sending chaosgroup a mail with your request, who knows :)

ArtiZta
06-26-2005, 01:00 PM
I've heard it's been released.. but when i checked the site there's no news.
does anyone know what's hapening? Will need great fluid system for future projects :) ..
The beta worked fine although with so many bugs but I think the plugin has a great future.

Neejoh
06-26-2005, 02:36 PM
I've heard it's been released.. but when i checked the site there's no news.
does anyone know what's hapening? Will need great fluid system for future projects :) ..
The beta worked fine although with so many bugs but I think the plugin has a great future.
My beta expires the first of december 2005, so I don't think it's released ;) Read the post above yours

ArtiZta
06-26-2005, 07:30 PM
ahh.. cool, lets see if they reply me :) ...
thx

wybl
06-28-2005, 04:51 PM
My beta expires the first of december 2005, so I don't think it's released

how is it possible that you have a version which works till december 2005? The only versions i can find are functional till februari an march this year -.-
I dont understand.

ps. they didnt reply to my mail...

CGRoman
06-28-2005, 05:56 PM
hi,

the plugin aura will be released, although u have to wait at least till 2006 for it to buy.

the chaosaura project is currently in a closed betaphase, which means u have to ask chaosgroup for participation. nevertheless there are new builds for all participants.

azloha
07-26-2005, 06:18 PM
does the aura still available for download??

Neejoh
07-29-2005, 03:42 PM
Dude, in the last 10 posts it's awnsered like 20 times :D

Maven
08-11-2005, 02:21 PM
YAY!! I got accepted for the beta version.

Can't wait to get it.

ArtiZta
08-13-2005, 01:59 PM
Congrats, I'll see you in chaosgroup closed beta tester's forum then :)

Shadow_545
08-17-2005, 01:57 AM
That sucks, by the time I hear about it and see all the stuff people have done with it, I can't try it out. I guess there's no real point to this thread anymore...

CGRoman
08-17-2005, 02:01 AM
its a closed beta programme, not a dead beta programme. ;)

write to chaosgroup to get in that programme.

KidderD
10-28-2005, 04:58 PM
Hey, I understand it's a closed beta program, but why not allow access to the gallery of images and clips for Aura, or even allowed to comment on the Chaos forum on the small bits in pieces of animation I have seen. BTW, the comparison test that I have seen, and most of the stuff on cgromans site, have looked fantastic. And, this is coming from someone who has messed with Maya Fluids for fire effects, not used it in production or anything, but I would like to see more, know more about Aura, especially as I have read that it could be heading via plugin to Maya as well, and although, I can't afford unlimited, this might be an attractive buy for those of us who can't. In particular, I would like to know the stats of that comparison test, how long to render, and as I understand it, the tech is different than Mayas, in that it doesn't have to be in a container, that's pretty interesting to hear about would like to hear more. Of course, the main question, is when can I try it out for myself?

KidderD
12-06-2005, 08:01 PM
One month .....

Thanks for your time!

bardur
12-22-2005, 02:14 AM
is there any news on Aura?.... or is it secret?
if not (wish i hope) can you please tell me how its going..
im looking forward to see a "Final" release.

one year has passed since ChaosGroup updated info on Aura!

Regards
Bardur

smooth
12-30-2005, 11:50 AM
yeah, still no words from Chaos about Aura.
would really be happy if someone of you can provide us with some news about it.
cheers.

bardur
01-26-2006, 07:45 PM
Isnt there ANY! news regarding "chaos Aura"...

Come one... the last post/Info on aura (from chaos group) is from 2004... and were in 2006 now..
i would really like to see something new regarding "Aura"

Regards
Bardur

emora
02-13-2006, 06:58 PM
I'll second that..
Its the only solution for realistic organic flames ( fluid like) for 3dmax, not smoke or explotions like afterb or pyroclust.. the samples that i've seen are amazing.. closeups of flames...the only thing similar to it would be fluid dynamics in maya, its shame that for a current project we are going to have to buy maya just for that..
anyway great tools i hope chaos finishis it soon

Esteban

bardur
02-13-2006, 07:08 PM
yeah... someone knowing about the progress of Aura.. PLEASE could you tell us how its going?

Regards
Bardur

feldy
03-18-2006, 10:05 PM
no idea man but u can still get pheonix it does fire fluid like but u dont have to go thru the simulations

emora
03-20-2006, 02:29 PM
well, I'll take back what I said of being a shame of having to use Maya Fluids..
the tool just works!, really great pice of technology there.. once you learn the basics.. its all tweak and tweak little..
still wuld love to see Aura.. for now Maya got the job done..

abut.. Phoenix .. for max... dunno.. didnt check on to it..


Esteban

DeKo-LT
06-21-2006, 11:53 PM
ChaosGroup loves VRay much more than Aura :rolleyes:.
I think they woking right now on VRay...

vaXn8d
06-22-2006, 12:09 AM
ChaosGroup loves VRay much more than Aura :rolleyes:.
I think they woking right now on VRay...

Hehe they better! We've all been waiting on VRay 1.5 for quite some time now. Aura is kickass for sure, but I'd rather have 1.5 released first... or better, now!

MSun
07-26-2006, 05:50 PM
well, i'd say to choas release your aura first, then go back to new releases for vray

i think aura kicks ass, but i never get to use it, when i find out about it, it's too late.

KidderD
07-28-2006, 05:05 PM
Seems like a convienent time to have a failure. Could have happened I guess, or could be prepping some announcements.

Chaos Group servers are undergoing maintenance due to hardware failure.
Please excuse us for the invconcenience. Any questions direct to our staff:
contacts@chaosgroup.com .
If you are a V-Ray customer or you have any V-Ray related questions - please direct those to vray@chaosgroup.com

mackdadd
08-26-2006, 08:08 PM
strange that this whole Aura thing has been quiet for so long. and now with Fumefx on the horizon, perhaps Chaos has lost the foothold they could have secured 2 years ago.

or maybe some other fluid simulator will pop out of nowhere...

it's about time Max gets something like Maya Fluids.

feldy
08-26-2006, 08:11 PM
fume does look very nice indeed.

bardur
11-04-2006, 09:18 PM
Nothing has happened on the Chaos aura front.. has it??
No news... no nothing.. hmm?

Well.. looking forward to the "soon to be released" FumeFX... SitniSati/Afterworks just keep bringing new great stuff to the masses :bounce:

Regards

DeKo-LT
11-04-2006, 09:45 PM
Officialy, Peter Mitev(ChaosGroup developer) said that Aura is still developing,
full interview here:
http://www.3dinsider.com/index.html#mitev_interview

..but truly, who knows what they thinking... :hmm:

bardur
11-05-2006, 11:12 AM
thanks for that link

Regards

yuriythebest
01-20-2007, 01:13 PM
Well.. looking forward to the "soon to be released" FumeFX... SitniSati/Afterworks just keep
Regards


FumeFx for max 9 32-64bit is released mate- sitting confortably in my 3ds max 9 plugins folder

Cryptite
02-01-2007, 08:31 PM
FumeFx for max 9 32-64bit is released mate- sitting confortably in my 3ds max 9 plugins folder

And BOY is it amazing. . . :D

feldy
02-02-2007, 03:02 AM
Cryptite you in indiana?

Cryptite
02-02-2007, 05:07 AM
I am. Bout 2.5 hours SE of Chicago.

feldy
02-02-2007, 07:19 PM
Im from just outside chicago. currently in la though.

Cryptite
02-02-2007, 09:09 PM
Awesome. I'm usually up there every few weekends actually, visiting a friend of mine that goes to college at Depaul.

PiXeL_MoNKeY
02-21-2007, 08:14 PM
Aura is actually no longer in development, according to posts from Vlado over at the Chaos Group forums. From the following Aura thread (http://www.chaosgroup.com/forum/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=17886):
The situation is such that there is no-one here to take care of the development and support for Aura, so it is hanging in an indefinite state for now.

Best regards,
Vlado
Hehe, no; we hope to be able to put together what we have so far and just release it as it is.

Best regards,
Vlado I am not sure what the last statement means. I am guessing it may go freeware like simcloth, maybe if we are lucky. I can't see them releasing it as a commercial tool with no one there to handle development and support.

-Eric

Luxo-Jr
03-05-2007, 07:29 PM
You gott be joking right?

Is this way I can't seem to find a workable link to download it?
Because all the links in this thread just don't work.....

theotheo
03-16-2007, 04:37 PM
That would be just wicked it they'd release it like they did with simcloth!

-the0

jlelievre
03-22-2008, 01:47 AM
Chances of them releasing it as a free plugin are doubtful as they are apparently re-writing it from scratch. But it certainly would be nice if it was free! :)

Chaos Aura (http://www.chaosgroup.com/forums/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=41235)

Looking forward to seeing what they come up with!

3DMadness
03-22-2010, 12:45 AM
So it looks like it will reborn from the ashes, and maybe because of this it's now renamed to Phenix:

http://www.chaosgroup.com/en/2/phoenix.html

Is anyone here in the beta team? :D

SoLiTuDe
03-22-2010, 01:37 AM
Wow, that's some unexpected news. Will def. be curious to see what comes of this... very exciting. I hope it turns out really well... will be very hard to compete with Fume at this point. I don't have much time for it, but I'll apply and see if I can get on the beta anyway. :D

floopyb
03-22-2010, 02:05 AM
I think with some good planning it could be much better than FumeFX. Fume is great but I dont think its a great production tool. Too slow and clunky... but such is the nature of simulation!
I saw some examples of a fume style system in the vray Environment Fog page and was wondering what it was... now I know!
Halfway down for some vids and pics:
http://www.spot3d.com/vray/help/150SP1/examples_vrayenvironmentfog.htm

At least it will render perfectly with Vray! That for, one, is a given.

thatoneguy
03-22-2010, 02:32 AM
I wonder if this'll be Max Standard Renderer compatible in order to work with Vray. If so that would be a boon for Vray, Brazil and Fr users.

thev
03-22-2010, 07:44 AM
It works with any 3ds Max-compatible renderer (excluding mental ray). Some more exotic features are only available in V-Ray though, since there is no common 3ds Max API for raytracing.

Best regards,
Vlado

JonathanFreisler
03-22-2010, 01:51 PM
Yeah sounds cool, will be interesting to see how it stands up against fume and visa versa.

It could be better, but Fume has an already established 'fan' base. I guess FFX is currently the only CFD solution in max.

Jordo, you would HOPE it would work as expected in vray anyway... ha ha

Cryptite
03-22-2010, 03:57 PM
I applied as well, curious how it will work out.

Could we see Fume/Phoenix/AB all in one shot?

And krakatoa and realflow...

and rayfire. :o

SoLiTuDe
03-22-2010, 04:05 PM
I think with some good planning it could be much better than FumeFX. Fume is great but I dont think its a great production tool. Too slow and clunky... but such is the nature of simulation!


You're kidding, right? :surprised What do you generally use in production then? I find Fume extremely fast, and invaluable as a production tool, especially since it's for Max and works well with TP and Pflow. I can't imagine having to go back to Afterburn haha ... I've also found Maya and Houdini are both slower and generally more cumbersome to get set up and iterate through, even though they both offer some really cool features we don't have, and though I don't know them as well I've also heard a few stories :). I'm not sure about Blender or C4D's stuff, but nonetheless, I'm curious what you're using, if not Fume.

Cryptite
03-22-2010, 04:19 PM
I think Fume can be very not fun if you're running a slow computer.

SoLiTuDe
03-22-2010, 04:36 PM
I think Fume can be very not fun if you're running a slow computer.

Haha, very very true... same goes for any other type of simulation though, especially fluid dynamics. :)

JohnnyRandom
03-22-2010, 05:01 PM
I applied as well, curious how it will work out.


You receive a reply yet? I sent mine in last week still waiting :(

Cryptite
03-23-2010, 12:00 AM
Haha nope, I applied earlier today :P

floopyb
03-23-2010, 12:20 AM
You're kidding, right? :surprised What do you generally use in production then? I find Fume extremely fast, and invaluable as a production tool, especially since it's for Max and works well with TP and Pflow. I can't imagine having to go back to Afterburn haha ... I've also found Maya and Houdini are both slower and generally more cumbersome to get set up and iterate through, even though they both offer some really cool features we don't have, and though I don't know them as well I've also heard a few stories :). I'm not sure about Blender or C4D's stuff, but nonetheless, I'm curious what you're using, if not Fume.

Dont get me wrong, I do use fume, I just think that as an efficient production tool there are many areas where it could be made more efficient and user friendly....

By the way.. .shouldn't we start a new thread called "Phoenix"?

jimmy4d
03-26-2010, 02:54 AM
W:curious: w this is going to to be interesting to say the least..........

Cryptite
03-26-2010, 08:46 PM
Got in today! Hopefully I can play around with it this weekend some.

em3
03-22-2011, 05:47 PM
All links are dead, what happened??

jlelievre
03-22-2011, 06:28 PM
This is what AURA has become...

Phoenix (http://www.chaosgroup.com/en/2/phoenix.html)

ghaztehschmexeh
01-06-2012, 11:33 AM
I'll have to give this a try :D

Debneyink
11-30-2012, 01:12 PM
Hey so I'm working on a nuke and this is what I've got so far without too much time, there's frames missing in the sim which I'm working on but you get the idea

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4D_uEVI11SA

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=swHP8WCJj8E


what i like most about these and Phoenix is its ability to work with Vray, both these shots are using one light with a hdri map!

Debneyink
11-30-2012, 02:01 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bz5Th1fy8qg&feature=youtu.be

another quick nuke test with hdri and vray lighting