PDA

View Full Version : Dropping Layers

danielh68
09-14-2004, 04:49 AM
Hi,

I've been using Painter 8 for a few months now and I still cannot figure out how the layers work. As a workaround, I actually export it to Photoshop and merge top to adjacent bottom layer. Anyhow, I can't figure out how to do that in Painter. When I "Drop" the top layer, it merges with the very bottom canvas layer, which isn't what I want. Is there a simple "Merge" down function?

Thanks,
Dan

Shogmaster
09-14-2004, 06:26 PM
In Painter 8, you hightlight the layers you want merged (holding down Shift), then "group" them, and then merge them together by the "collapse" command.

http://img80.exs.cx/img80/3823/paintermerge.jpg

danielh68
09-14-2004, 07:39 PM
Shogmaster,

I really appreciate the help, especially the easy step-by-step graphic you provided. Strange thing, though, everything is fine unitl stage four: "Collapse" is grayed out. I can't explain it, I grouped two layers, but when I reclick on the little button on the buttom left hand corner, the collapse feature is disabled. If you have any suggestions, it would be much appreciated.

Thanks again,
Dan

Shogmaster
09-14-2004, 11:57 PM
That's because one or more of your layers are probably on "gel" or something else other than "default". Set all layers to default before trying to merge them.

danielh68
09-15-2004, 01:04 AM
Thanks for your help again Shogmaster. I know why it's not doing it now. Since I go back and forth between Painter and Photoshop, I generally save the files as .PSD. The problem is that the "Collapse" feature doesn't work with .psd files. Just as a test, I saved it again as a native Painter file and the "Collapse" feature was suddenly enabled. Hmmm, not sure what to do about this, I guess I will continue with my same workaround. Anyhow, I really appreciate your help. Thank you.

Dan

Shogmaster
09-15-2004, 01:13 AM