PDA

View Full Version : Linux for Shake

Pretorian
09-13-2004, 11:06 PM
Hi!

I'm planning to start with Shake for Linux, but first, I have to choose wich one to install. I would like to know wich is the best Linux for Shake. I have never used Linux before, but I would like to install the best that work with Shake. I heard about SuSe. Is it good to run Shake?

Any advice is very apreciated! :thumbsup:

Thanks! :)

PS: sorry but I just saw that it has a thread like this already here and already answered. I couldn't delete this. Anyway, if someone feels good in answering this, I will thank a lot! :)

844x
09-14-2004, 07:55 AM
I red that fedora core2 are good for shake

Hugh
09-14-2004, 09:20 AM
We're just moving onto Fedora Core 1 here at work - I don't know why not 2, but there must be a reason for it... Maybe FC2 is still an 'in production' version...?

Pretorian
09-14-2004, 05:36 PM
Thanks!

Fedora is like the old Red Hat, isn't it?

What about SuSe, Mandrake or Debian? And, wich compilation from them?

Any other advice?

Regards :)

DiGiman
09-14-2004, 10:29 PM
I use Suse 9.1 and it works great.

maxtomaya
09-19-2004, 05:30 PM
Fedora Core 2 is the best version of Linux for graphics purpose. Fedora is NOT the old but the NEW and the better version of Red Hat. All internals are the same just that Fedora is Open source but delivered by the same people (Redhat) and maintained by Redhat AND community.

Also, it is much easier to install. People who would know very little about linux, we would not want to spend time installing patches and upgrades for graphic card drivers or finding one, Fedora detects everything automaticaly. I should also advice that Fedora is probably the best OS for desktop/Graphics (Mac too) purposes. It is even better than Windows XP and has every single tool Windows has and more that we would need to do graphics.

Madrake is good too, but not as much as compatible with devices as Fedora.

Hope it helps!

Hugh
09-19-2004, 06:35 PM