PDA

View Full Version : Rendering with a touch of cartoon?


fl0w
09-12-2004, 03:36 PM
Hi!

I was wondering, is there a possibility to render in a cartoonish style?
I would like the output/final result to compare (more or less) with Futurama, Simpsons, Family Guy etc.

If so, then my next question would be following;
Would it be a specialised use of shaders or is it a global-rendering settings?

Appriciate all the help I could get.

Kind regards,
Martin fl0w Iwanowski

anthonymcgrath
09-13-2004, 03:03 PM
theres numerous shaders on highend3d.com that all output a toon style of shading and another one that were recently uploaded called gooch. Just found the link on this site:

http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?t=167954

quite a nice shader and I'm sure they're all tune-able to some degree. Have a fiddle :)

ant
newcastle
uk

Rizo
09-14-2004, 03:39 AM
At "Display Render Globals", at Using Render: select "Maya Vector" and there just play with the options... and check this link:

http://localhost:4444/Maya5.0/en_US/WhatsNew/render_wn32.html

Bye!

Zac256
09-14-2004, 03:59 AM
Those are true, but it might be worthwhile to mention that the vector renderer is extremely slow, and the shaders on Highend give :hmm: :) :banghead: kinds of results some times. Another one for you to check out would be the use contour shader in MR. It's :cool: .
-Zac

ooz
09-14-2004, 08:26 AM
check this out....

www.toonshade.com (http://www.toonshade.com)

WTango
09-28-2004, 06:59 PM
Hola,
Well I tried toonshade.com I got the trial version, but have no idea how to work it out. Does anyone know how to do it? Their website is really bad. No help or support what so ever. :bounce:

Cheers,
WT.

ooz
10-03-2004, 01:12 PM
from the cartoonShader menu at the top, choose create > choose what u want here.
then from hypershade select the material u just created, right click graph network. then select the shader right mouseclick assign to selection.

then just tweak away to get the look u want.

chocobo2k
10-03-2004, 04:13 PM
There are many methods to produce cartoon style in Maya and each one gives a diffrent result from the other method so you must follow trial abd error approach to achive the result wanted.
One of the easiest method is to attach a RAMP Shader to your geometry then go to attribute editor and change Color Input from LIGHT ANGLE to BRIGHTNESS. and you can control the levels of color from thr ramp.
Another method is attaching a surface shader and enabling contour in MR render globals and from the your SGnode of the surace shader go to mentalray tab and enbale Contours and attach a contour shader.
The last method I know is by using a shader called NPRS ( stands for non-photorealistic render ) and It is pretty good.
So try them and good luck

CGTalk Moderation
01-19-2006, 05:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.