PDA

View Full Version : XSI 4.0 and Athlon XP?


motoxpress
09-10-2004, 05:33 AM
Is an Athlon 2400 XP sufficient to run XSI? With say 512-1 gig of ram and some flavor of an Nvidia video card? I have a temporary system that I intend to run it on while I build the workstation with much better specs. This will probably becomes a rendering station thereafter.

Thx

gl

JDex
09-10-2004, 05:34 AM
Yes that should run it admirably. Go for the extra ram...

qba3d
09-10-2004, 07:31 AM
Hi! I use Soft XSI 4 on AMD Athlon XP 2400 with 1 gig of ram and cheap PNY Quadro FX 500... and it works great, but just us Jdex Said: more ram is needed... so go for 1,5 Gig. So far that is how much XSI can actually use...
Q

motoxpress
09-10-2004, 02:39 PM
Thanks guys. I will plan to do the ram. I assume a 5900 video card will work ok as well?

gl

qba3d
09-10-2004, 02:47 PM
It suppose to work OK. Much better than ATI would, that is for sure...

motoxpress
09-10-2004, 02:50 PM
Ok. I eventually, will be moving to a PCIe system and at a minimum will be adding a 6800 but potentially a Quadro.

Thanks again

gl

runejw
09-10-2004, 05:11 PM
Athlon can actually be better for rendering than P4. Why? Because the architecture of the CPU has 3 x Floating Point pipelines while the P4 has only 2. The floating point pipelines are one of the most essential number-crunchers for doing calculations while rendering.

That's also part of the reason why Athlon performs much better than P4 at the same clock frequency and why Athlon introduced the (somewhat cheesy but...) "equivalent" speed rating.

http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/ProductInformation/0,,30_118_3734_3759,00.html

9 operations per clock cycle compared to 6 also counts for some.

Cache size on the CPU is also important, but there the picture is more even.

When price is factored in also, there is no question about AMD still offering more "bang for the buck".


Cheers,
Rune

CGTalk Moderation
01-19-2006, 05:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.