PDA

View Full Version : Lightwave to ZBrush and back?

Guillermo
09-09-2004, 11:41 AM
Hi,

Im pretty new to ZBrush :)

Is there a good tutorial on how to make Normal maps in ZB for LW imported objects and then export them to LW again?

Ive followed some but I have a lot of troubles exporting the normal map. It doesnt seem to fit the LW UVmap inherent to the imported object...

This is what I do:

In Lightwave:

-Make the Low poly model (a head for ex.)
-Apply the UVmap to the model
-Export the model as .obj

In ZBrush:

-Import the .obj
-Subdivide it and model detail.
-Export the normal as image. *Here is the problem, the image doesnt fit the original UVmap.

What should I do?

Thanks a lot!

jasonfox
09-09-2004, 12:37 PM
I think you have to flip the image in the V before you export it !

lsddigital
09-09-2004, 01:07 PM
Hi Guillermo
look in Zbrush and Lightwave : LSDdigital.net (http://www.lsddigital.net) ... and it is in Spanish.
I hope it help you.
See you soon

Guillermo
09-09-2004, 01:51 PM
Thanks both!

Ill try :)

WeirdoStudio
09-09-2004, 07:16 PM
Hey glad to be here at the Zbrush forum.. Could someone who knows a workflow to get from Zbrush to lightwave for rendering please explain? Seems like the lightwave community isn't taking full advantage of this powerful app..

Guillermo
09-09-2004, 11:49 PM
Seems like the lightwave community isn't taking full advantage of this powerful app..

Completely agree with you. Ive been looking all the web arround and cant find a really good LW<->ZB tutorial. Lots of ZB<->Maya, max, XSI, ... but nothing serious about Lightwave.