PDA

View Full Version : Would you purchase Gnomon XSI Training?

JDex
09-06-2004, 09:45 AM
Let's hear it folks.

Gnomon>>>XSI

yog
09-06-2004, 04:27 PM
Bit of a broad question isn't it ?

If the topics are relavent and covered in enough depth, of course I would buy from them.

skullhozer
09-06-2004, 04:41 PM
Hi, this is my 1st ever post on the CGTalk forums. Anyway, I think Gnomon DVDs covering Softimage|XSI is a great idea! I'm a 3D/CG newbie atm, but from all the software packages I've tried Softimage|XSI seems to be the best. I'm still struggling with the interface a bit though...

Signal2Noise
09-06-2004, 06:51 PM
I chose the "depends on topics/reviews" option but it will also depend on some other factors as well:

-Price?
-TV playback or PC only?*
-Version of XSI covered?**

*I'd really like DVD tutorials that could be played on a television. It would be much more convenient. I do the majority of my work on a laptop so it would be real nice to be able to sit in front of the TV, laptop on the table, and DVD playing in a regular DVD player watching the tutorials on a large screen TV. Then my laptop screen real estate can be utilized just for XSI.

**It won't do me any good as a Foundation owner to see the majority of tutorials geared towards Advanced users. It would be great if the DVDs were separated out so Foundation, Essentials, and Advanced could be available as "modularized" add-on packs.

yog
09-06-2004, 08:02 PM
*I'd really like DVD tutorials that could be played on a television. It would be much more convenient. I do the majority of my work on a laptop so it would be real nice to be able to sit in front of the TV, laptop on the table, and DVD playing in a regular DVD player watching the tutorials on a large screen TV. Then my laptop screen real estate can be utilized just for XSI.
Would definately be a plus. I really like prefer watching tutorials on the telle as well. Sometimes switching from one VDU to another almost seems like a break :D