PDA

View Full Version : Flash and Firefox


creative destructions
09-03-2004, 07:02 PM
Anybody know how to get flash to load in firefox?

JohnnyRandom
09-03-2004, 07:09 PM
I run firefox, no problems here.
Could you be more specific.
Did you download the browser plugin? http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/download.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash

Gein
09-03-2004, 07:13 PM
Can you be a litle more specific? No flash (swf) files are loading?
Witch Firefox version are you running? Windows? Linux? Mac? Did you install it, or just unziped the ZIP file that is available?

I'm running 0.9.3 in Windows, and Flash works without sound. Aparently it's a known problem.

Gein

Fahad
09-03-2004, 09:45 PM
I'm running 0.9.3 in Windows, and Flash works without sound. Aparently it's a known problem.Gein
that's strange, I'm running 0.9.3 on windows xp, and quicktime, flash, windows media, and everthing really runs fine ... as long as you follow the installation instructions on the firefox site.

it actually runs so well, that i haven't used IE to browse the net since i downloaded firefox a couple of months ago.

it's an excellent alternative, and i've tried quiet a few, namely netscape, opera and another one i can't remember it's name. but firefox has proven to be best.

pnoland
09-03-2004, 09:58 PM
Anybody know how to get flash to load in firefox? Windows? Linux? what? I have Firefox and flash on both and it works with no issues. I just ran the installer, restarted the browser and it's fine for me.

Edit: Rand..haha damn typo. I'm not that dumb. ;)

Gein
09-03-2004, 10:04 PM
that's strange, I'm running 0.9.3 on windows xp, and quicktime, flash, windows media, and everthing really runs fine ... as long as you follow the installation instructions on the firefox site.
I use Firefox all the time. Just got used to the lack of sound. :) Must be something with my profile or firefox directory. But I haven't bothered to check it, cause I use very few plugins. Well, only flash really.

creative destructions
09-03-2004, 10:05 PM
Thanks for the help guys. Just on some pages flash doesn't load for me on firefox. Could be some other things. I'll check it out first.

creative destructions
09-03-2004, 10:11 PM
I think it's some type of internal pathing error. Firefox doesn't support ../ paths or local network paths like \\ .

Fahad
09-03-2004, 10:19 PM
post an example link and let me try it out here

creative destructions
09-03-2004, 10:39 PM
http://www.creativedestructions.com/

It's not the flash file, just an html pathing error. I'll fix it a little later.

Fahad
09-03-2004, 10:46 PM
ok there's a flash border in there, but nothings comming up (first time this has happened, unless of course, there's nothing to come up)

check the attachment.

creative destructions
09-03-2004, 11:21 PM
It works in IE. I'm sure it's just a pathing error. Or it could be not, have you tried it IE?

Gein
09-03-2004, 11:38 PM
It works in IE. I'm sure it's just a pathing error. Or it could be not, have you tried it IE?
I've tried in IE and Opera. Same result. Movie not loaded.

pgp_protector
09-03-2004, 11:43 PM
Looks like it's your path to the flash movie.

I.E. is just ignoring the error ( ../flash/intro.swf ) If Im correct the .. is to go up one level, I.E. cant, ignores it, and contunes.

Firefox, just stops & wont load, but if you view http://www.creativedestructions.com/flash/intro.swf it works

EDIT:
The Path in your HTML is
http://www.creativedestructions.com/../flash/intro.swf (http://www.creativedestructions.com/flash/intro.swf)

EDIT 2 :)

I would try changing
<param name="movie" value="../flash/intro.swf" />
to
<param name="movie" value="flash/intro.swf" />

and
<embed src="intro.swf" quality="high" bgcolor="#ffffff" width="1000" height="200" name="intro" align="middle" allowScriptAccess="sameDomain" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" />
to
<embed src="flash/intro.swf" quality="high" bgcolor="#ffffff" width="1000" height="200" name="intro" align="middle" allowScriptAccess="sameDomain" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" />

pgp_protector
09-03-2004, 11:46 PM
The EMBED is NOT Pointing to the Flash Movie ;)

creative destructions
09-03-2004, 11:55 PM
Thanks pgp_protector. It works now.

CGTalk Moderation
01-19-2006, 03:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.