PDA

View Full Version : Stop-Motion/CGI Animation reel

teabgs
09-03-2004, 12:33 PM
Hey everyone! I graduated from NYU Tisch School of the Arts in May and recently cut a new reel. I'm looking to work as a character animator in stop motion and CGI. I am considering cutting a new reel, but I want to see how people react to this first. Please give it to me straight as I want to get my reel as polished as I can before I start sending it out.

here is the link to my resume: http://www.mindoverpixels.com/resume.html

For the reel, I still need to make separate pages for the low and hi res versions. I'll link to the hi res which WILL NOT LOAD unless you click play. But it will let you see my breakdown either way. Hi res is 17 MB and low res is 4.9MB and they're both QT 5 compatible.

I'll also post a direct link to the lower res file, since the breakdown is the same.

here is the link to my reel and breakdown sheet: http://www.mindoverpixels.com/res_reel.html

Low res for dial-up people: http://www.mindoverpixels.com/movies/reel_low.mov

Thanks for taking a look. It's very much appreciated!

andrewley
09-03-2004, 02:52 PM
First of all I would change the music. I found it irritating especially towards the end.

Regarding the animation:

I thought the worms and lump of clay were a weak start to the reel. It's really important to grab the viewers attention straight away.

The animation in the car felt a bit robotic but the lip sync looked ok

The animation on the blue guy and the guy on the phone felt slow (especially the blue guys arms and when the guy closes his phone) Everything seemed to move at the same speed resulting in dull animation.

Get rid of that squiggly line thing.

The guy hitting the screen lacked weight in his movement - like the pole weighed nothing.

Again the girls runcycle lacked a sense of weight and felt jerky

the quality was inconsistant - some quite good (like the headless cg dog and stopmotion dog) and some quite poor (the girl runcycle).