PDA

View Full Version : smooth wireframes?


pappuftp
08-30-2004, 03:52 PM
how do i set a smooth open-gl display in XSI viewports

like how u have smooth wirefranme in maya?

bravmm
08-30-2004, 04:01 PM
Can you explain how it looks like, because not all of us came from a Maya background :D

cheers,

rob

titaniumdave
08-30-2004, 04:21 PM
What are you asking? You want to smooth your objects or do you want wireframe on a shaded object?

seb4d
08-30-2004, 04:30 PM
In Maya you can apply anti-aliasing to objects in wireframe view.
I don't think there is such an option in XSI, at least I haven't found it.

titaniumdave
08-30-2004, 04:44 PM
So basically you just want to smooth the object in wireframe view? Every polygon in xsi is a subd so all you have to do to smooth it is hit + on the numpad to subd it and - to take it back to poly.

SheepFactory
08-30-2004, 06:24 PM
no there is no smooth wireframe option in XSI afaik. You can make the wireframe thicker if you are unhappy with the thickness.

mocaw
08-30-2004, 07:28 PM
Maybe he ment as a Nurbs object?

SheepFactory
08-30-2004, 07:32 PM
No he means smooth wireframe , an option in maya that antialiases the object wireframe display. you guys can stop the guess game now , I used maya before :)

pappuftp
08-30-2004, 07:59 PM
sheep factory , yes thats exatcly what i wanted .. antialiased lines in xsi . But Alas it seems there is no option anywhere

titaniumdave
08-30-2004, 08:46 PM
Atleast someone knew what was going on. :thumbsup:

ostov
08-30-2004, 09:05 PM
Well, you can turn on anti-alising (you probly know how to do that with your card, if you dont, then leave 3dhttp://cgtalk.com/images/smilies/thumbsup.gif) I have got some problems with this, but it might work for you...

KolbyJukes
08-30-2004, 10:26 PM
If you want to anti-alias your wire in viewport, just up the anti aliasing in your video card options (usually it's set to 'application controlled', I set it to 4x or 8x, for really smooth lines).

-Kol.

JDex
08-30-2004, 10:38 PM
You're probably going to need a really powerful card on approved drivers to keep stability in XSI when using high OGL AA.

I've not had any luck on consumer cards w/ OGL AA & XSI.

pappuftp
08-31-2004, 09:24 AM
I would rather have gcards tweaks application controlled rather than have to set things globally .. maye 4.01 would have that option ..

thnx all tho

CGTalk Moderation
01-19-2006, 03:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.