PDA

View Full Version : design visualization in XSI

infin8
08-26-2004, 12:47 AM
Someone told me that XSI wasn't any good for design visualization (buildings and interiors)!! I am new to XSI and think this is bull#$%. But I don't have anything to back me up. Does anyone have any good links or examples of such?

bravmm
08-26-2004, 08:18 AM
It is true Softimage is used more in other areas than design viz, but that it is not capabale is not entirely true. You could say XSI is lacking in some features, "needed" to quickly set up architectural stuff or something like that. 3DSMAX has more features build in for that kind of stuff, but that's no wonder with AutoCAD and VIZ looking around the corner. Just have a look at the Mental Ray website and so a serach on the web. You will find really nice renderings of design viz done with XSI and MR.

cheers,

rob

Iysun
08-26-2004, 09:43 AM
its not as easy with XSI as it would be with other apps, mainly because the nurbs toolset is not the greatest.

although it is very possible to make anything you wanted

mr Bob
08-26-2004, 12:34 PM
it is very true xsi is not as good as others have mentioned , it all boils down to the right tool for the right job , xsi is a tool and thats how you should look at it . 99% of architectural practices / vis studios use max , its cheap , it works with autocad dwg file format and its flexible.
xsi needs support for autocad layers , b splines , and support for file formats like dwg , then it might compete with max for vis work. xsi might get theses features in the future and in the mean time you could alwyas model in max then bring into xsi , but then you might run into difficulties when your client keeps adding / making changes to the plans etc ..

B

preludian
08-26-2004, 03:28 PM