PDA

View Full Version : MentalRay in XSI:questions

Blur1
08-21-2004, 06:23 PM
Like many I'm considering getting XSI Foundation for using in my spare time. I don't have a PC at the moment so I can't DL the 30 day demo.
As far as a renderer's ease of use, my background is as a designer so I'm not inclined towards being a TD/programmer - what's important to me is a renderer that is easy to set up, is fast and produces amazing results.

Most of my experience with 3D renderers comes from Electric Image's "Camera" renderer which I found to be easy to use, of a high quality, and also very fast. The only "easy to use" renderer I have come across that compares is VRay.

I have seen some really nice animated output done with XSI/MR but the one thing lacking was the motion blur. I have heard that the quality and the speed have improved dramatically in XSI 4 with "rapid motion blur". Is this the case? Can anyone post an example with render times? What I have seen before is a huge render hit, and the results still were not acceptable.

Also, is it fast/easy to set up good buffer shadows/aa etc? You know, basic production issues that people love prMan for.

Lastly, how much of a performance boost is there when using the satellite rendering feature in the render region? I know this is not in Foundation but I'm still interested to know. The render region looks like a great time saver and much more fluid than Maya IPR.

Thanks

Atyss
08-21-2004, 07:36 PM
>>>> Most of my experience with 3D renderers comes from Electric Image's "Camera" renderer which I found to be easy to use, of a high quality, and also very fast. The only "easy to use" renderer I have come across that compares is VRay.