PDA

View Full Version : dual channel ram


adren@line
08-18-2004, 12:08 PM
I bought a computer about 6 months ago from a local mom n pop shop.

The mobo is dual channel capable, but right now I have 1x512mb ddr400 stick.

If I wanted to enable dual channel, could I just go buy the same model/make of Ram from the store, or would have I have to buy a "dual channel kit" of ram that comes with 2 identical sticks?

singularity2006
08-18-2004, 06:47 PM
no, u can buy just another identical stick. Dual Channel capability is not dependent on the RAM itself but rather the motherboard. Those dual channel kits that are overpriced are just marketting gimmicks. However, if u want, u can find some pretty good deals on dual channel kits just if u want faster RAM and more of it. Just look around.

CGTalk Moderation
01-19-2006, 01:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.