PDA

View Full Version : 3965 (train), Reinier Lensink (3D)

Reinier
08-13-2004, 11:20 PM
http://www.cgnetworks.com/gallerycrits/53035/53035_1092435613_medium.jpg (http://www.cgnetworks.com/gallerycrits/53035/53035_1092435613.jpg)

Title: 3965 (train)
Name: Reinier Lensink
Software: 3dsmax 5, Brazil, Photoshop

Hi, this is my first time posting my 3d work here at cgtalk.com and i have to say i'm pretty nervous. :D

This is a steam locomotive i have just finished. It's based on the Challenger Class locomotives from America. Modelling was pretty straightforward... extruding and chamfering simple shapes and some lofting.

I learned alot about optimizing my geometry and textures because i got some rendering problems after awhile. (textures becoming white etc.) These problems were quickly eliminated with the help of the 3dsmax thread here at cgtalk. So after deleting alot of backfaces it all worked fine again.

Well i hope you all enjoy it and comments are more then welcome!

Reinier.

Guillermo
08-14-2004, 01:34 AM
WOOOOWW

Simply OUTSTANDING model man!! Great detail and lighting :thumbsup:

JesseDavis
08-14-2004, 02:01 AM
very very nice. Congrats

SpaXe
08-14-2004, 03:39 AM
Don't be nervous, for you have done a great job!

Dennik
08-14-2004, 04:35 AM
Wow, lots of details! This must have taken forever. Great model and textures. Don't be nervous, you're got the talent Reinier :)

Dennik
08-14-2004, 04:37 AM
Damn i hate when i do spelling mistakes, specially now that Leonard removed the edit button! :banghead: I have to type slower than i think...

Reinier
08-14-2004, 06:26 AM
Thank you all for your responses. :)

I'm doing 3d for a pretty long time now, but i never ever finished something because of work and school. It also meant that i wasnt sure wether or not i could get this finished the way i had in mind.

I'm going to take a break for a few days and then i wil begin on a new 3d project. My modelling of the human figure needs alot practice...