PDA

View Full Version : help needed in creating a 3d animatic

vrljc
08-13-2004, 09:43 PM
I am starting on a 3d animatic for my upcoming animated short. I have never done a 3d animatic before and I am looking for some hints, tips, and tricks on making the experience a more pleasurable one.

Some specific questions that I have are:

- how much motion should be put into the character, such as moving arms and legs etc?
- is simply sliding the character across the ground enough to find exact timing?
- what other befefits does the animatic serve besides roughing out timing and camera angles?
- should rough facial animation be used?

Any help would be appreciated!

-jon

grury
08-16-2004, 11:19 AM
Well if it is for a personal project, its up to you how much detail do you want to get into the animatic. If you have to do a animatic for a paid job, then it mostly depends on who you working for.
For exemple I've done animatics with only a few boxes and basic shapes moving around, just to have a notion for timing and camera setup, but on the job I'm doing right now, the animatic was quite detailed, actually added a 2nd pass were I added a bit of the characters poses. So if you think it helps you having a very detailed animatic, go for it, personally I wouldnt do it for a project of my own, I would rather spend the time blocking the animation. Its your call.

Cheers

kachoudas
08-17-2004, 09:37 AM
I now go for quite detailled animatics.

Poses (torso, arms), basic walk cycles (don't care about feet sliding, but DO care about speed and distance travelled), basic expression changes (main shot expression, and/or strong expression animation)

Basic dominant colors, global volumes for settings, similar lights. music if needed

The idea is : you make an animating to decide for the final editing of your film. So put in it anything that concern editing : Movement and shot "readability" (if that is an english word)