PDA

View Full Version : animators website / portfolio

telliott
08-12-2004, 10:03 PM
Hey all,

I've been a animator working on the fringes of the industry for quite some time now. I'm frustrated with diminishing budgets, miniscule time frames and lack of appreciation for the art. I'm trying to transition from 2d to the 3d world and have started grad school. I hope to transition to a junior position in a larger company.

Unfortunately, I think I've put up with about all that I can take from my current job. I'm looking to leave immediately. I would really appreciate any critique on my portfolio website, www.toddelliott.com (http://www.toddelliott.com/) . And please, don't worry about hurting my feelings. Honesty is very much appreciated.

Thanks
Todd Elliott
www.toddelliott.com (http://www.toddelliott.com)

Maximus Groff
08-12-2004, 10:34 PM
Hi telliot, just checked your web site and the 'look and feel' its good, but IMHO to rock
instead of just glowing your icones, the other frame could be with aggressive colour - looks
like you have leaved things with minimum effort (BTW when your email gets litted, its very
hard to see the actual address... i know, sounds dumb but IMHO its very unatractive (choose a dark greenish glow and it will be ok)..

The frogman - The head part its ok but the rest seems more like a 'fast test' - and rigging wise
the hand in the first 5 secs looks unaturally bended... really... if i were you, do very fast movements - not slow, or u will get lots more of time to anyone nitpick everything.

'My very first ...' - remove that, people that have money wanna see just your maximum performance.

The heads - thats its so boring to see on every site... its good quality, but u gotta jump over the mass websites of heads ... perhaps do hands or feets that will be more unique.

Kitchen Items - remove that also.... looks like very beginning 3d... make a comp with other
work to show these off.